PDA

View Full Version : Rage Controller Banjo Tooie


zenodenotation
25th July 2010, 10:36 PM
So, I was going to use this as a turbo thing for Canary Mary, right? (Don't blame me, everyone knows it is freaking impossible....ish. So, anyway, I try and do it, but then I end up seeing "No Controller." Every solution I have seen doesn't work. I assign the control stuff, but then it automatically deletes them and makes them unassigned. Here is a few pics of the problems.

img571.imageshack.us/img571/8219/rom1.png

img535.imageshack.us/img535/9924/rom2s.png

Thank you for your help.

squall_leonhart
25th July 2010, 10:40 PM
thats caused by having the infinite air cheat enabled at startup iirc.

the unassigned glitch is a seperate issue, probably related to the plugin not being able to read/write the configuration data.

zenodenotation
26th July 2010, 12:43 AM
So, what would you suggest? Because I do not have infinite air....or do I? I don't believe so since I use feathers.....eh. Anyway, as I said, what would you suggest I should do?

HatCat
26th July 2010, 01:09 AM
What version of N-Rage's controller input plug-in are you using? The "No Controller" reaction was a known issue at some point.

You don't need to have the larger compilation buffer setting turned on there. Just cuts down speed for nothing in this game.

Infinite Air cheat just crashes the game.

zenodenotation
26th July 2010, 02:29 AM
It's V2 1.80a

HatCat
26th July 2010, 03:07 AM
Host page for legacy, official versions of N-Rage's DirectInput.
http://members.chello.at/n-rage/dinput8/index.html

Discussion and download for improved overhaul, later versions of the plug-in.
http://forums.ngemu.com/misc-n64-discussion/123570-nrage-directinput-overhaul.html

In case you did have any cheats on, hit Ctrl+C while the game is running to verify.

Are you running on a limited Windows NT account or with admin privileges?

zenodenotation
26th July 2010, 06:30 AM
I do have admin privileges. Sorry it took so long to reply, went off for a while.

HatCat
26th July 2010, 08:00 PM
Okay so looking at your second screen you linked, it looks like all of your controller mappings keep getting reset but not the setting that controller 1 is set to be plugged in, its existence being emulated? And you find it that way when you save changes and re-enter the config?

And does it help if you use the overhaul update to the current controller input plug-in you're using?
http://www.randomwisdom.com/files/NRage_DInput8_V2_2.1_rc3.zip

Do you use only a keyboard or other devices for controller input?

Found some other known causes people had.


Save type in ROM settings isn't set to 16-Kb EEPROM".
Device configuration. Lack of support for external devices or misconfiguration with them.
Bad ROM image. CRC identifiers weren't done correctly, and the image needs to be replaced.

zenodenotation
26th July 2010, 08:30 PM
That's the thing. It resets the controls, including the plugged/unplugged thing, and when I try to fix it, it resets again!

Yes, I am only using a keyboard.

Also, I tried putting the new rage thing in, it says "Failed to load new plugg-in" and apparently, I am missing a MSVCR70.dll to run a file.

HatCat
26th July 2010, 09:08 PM
Well like squall said, it sounds like the settings for that version of N-Rage are stored in a write-protected area or something.
Let's just try the newer plug-in.

Get msvcr70 from here.
http://www.dll-files.com/pop.php?dll=msvcr70

Put that above the folder for plug-ins for the emulator to initialize with.

zenodenotation
26th July 2010, 09:28 PM
Ok, I just put the folders in, but it still says "No Controller"

I placed the folders inside the folder that says "Plug-ins"

Experiment #150
26th July 2010, 10:02 PM
what folders? You are using N-Rage? select the controller.

HatCat
26th July 2010, 10:15 PM
msvcr70 goes where Project64 is, not a subfolder named "Plug-ins".

Emmett
28th July 2010, 08:38 PM
So, I was going to use this as a turbo thing for Canary Mary, right? (Don't blame me, everyone knows it is freaking impossible....ish. So, anyway, I try....

Ah! Alert all Lisp programmers, we're missing a close paren!

HatCat
28th July 2010, 09:11 PM
Heh well about that quote I just remembered someone I know is actually able to press the button that fast and beat Canary Mary without the RapidFire/turbo modifier. He's just weird like that though; otherwise everyone I know just emulates turbo macro function.

HatCat
19th September 2010, 05:12 AM
^ save state for the above
http://www.filesend.net/download.php?f=9f5aca4b7f93b88b6392376262a5f5d1

It takes a long time to replay the game until Mary Canary (or even correctly bypass with cheats) is in Cloud Cuckooland, but it's perfect for testing whether you think you'll need to cheat and emulate RapidFire or not. :P

I know one person who actually was able to win the race without using RapidFire. I never did for the past decade though.