PDA

View Full Version : Extract Models and Textures ?

Puppies
25th February 2011, 01:33 PM
Hello good people !
I'm a cg artist, making a bit of modding for fun, and playing old good N64 games of my adolescence. I'm happy that PJ64 is still beeing developed and thankfull for your work.

I use Lemmy's plug-in to extract models and textures. I want to extract Extreme G2 models and i know this plug-in particulary fails on this rom.
I tried with direct x ripper but it doesn't extract the model (if you have an idea...), i think it's because it doesn't support correctly directx 8 though it's meant to do it.

Most of the time, the uv data of the output model are wrong, though it displays correctly in the emulator. I know N64 textures have special attributes (tiling, clamp, flip...) and also, are not necesseraly in power of 2. That maybe causes issues but no matter how i turn my uv, or the texture, it still doesn't look good (and i'm not a 3d noob)
I could scale the uv manually, but it would be a lot of work, and not very accurate.

This is quiet frustrating because it does display correctly so i know my graphic card has the good informations :p

So, do you plan to release some tools for the modder community ? A lemmy's plug-in update to extract game data nice and clean ?

Cheers !

HatCat
25th February 2011, 10:53 PM
Better to ask this at the newer Nemu64 message board at EmuTalk than to do so here. Don't know why it didn't work with a particular game or if it did and just not with exceptional data, but none of us have modified any code for Nemu64 or its plug-ins.

Puppies
27th February 2011, 12:53 AM
erm well, nemu 64 and lemmy's plug-in developement stopped in 2004 or so. Their forum is dead.
With lemmy's plug in, theres already awful texturing error in the emulator, si not surprising there are errors in the model extracted.