PDA

View Full Version : Improved startup?


Y2K_3100
17th February 2013, 06:07 AM
I'm just suggesting that there should be an option to auto launch a game on start up or a way to apply start up commands.

That way if I launch project64 through steam big picture it'll open whatever game I have selected in it's "auto start/launch" menu automatically.

I could just put a different P64 in each games folder and rename each instance of P64 in steam to the game they launch.

Or at least a way to navigate the rom list with a controller without having to use another application like joy2key. (as this can cause issues with several other applications)

If anyone knows of another way to do this please tell me. Either way, this would be a nice feature to see.

-End Goal- To be able to launch P64 games through Big Picture and run them in P64 with the Big Picture overlay without ever using my keyboard.

Y2K_3100
17th February 2013, 06:15 AM
The Big Picture overlay works fine if you launch P64 through steam. No issues there. The issue is just getting a game to start without using my keyboard.. I'm trying to build a steambox/emulator/console-like pc for my living room. I even made a launcher.bat file to launch a .z64 file (i have it set to auto launch P64 when a .z64 is opened) and converted the launcher.bat to launcher.exe so I could put the launcher in steam.. but of course the overlay went to my launcher.exe and not P64.... So yeah.. any help or future updates would be great guys.

Y2K_3100
17th February 2013, 06:59 AM
I even tried creating a shortcut to P64 and editing the parameters to tell P64 to start a .z64. The shortcut worked. Launching P64 with my game on start up.

Steam even supports .lnk shortcuts! So I didn't need to do any unneeded .exe crud.

But...

It turns out if you select a shortcut when adding a game to steam it'll ignore all parameters and just launch the .exe... without my game. -.-

So again.. any helpful comments/helpful future updates would be great.

HatCat
17th February 2013, 03:39 PM
The issue is just getting a game to start without using my keyboard..

I usually just double-click with my mouse when the ROM browser in pj64 appears.

Or, if I can assume the selected ROM is the same selection as it last was when I close pj64 exe previously, just hit Enter the moment I start up the program.

I would rather do everything with a keyboard than any other device.
I can even select web elements on a web page with a keyboard :D
don't really need a mouse for anything

Dunno anything about Steam though sorry :/

cdoublejj
24th June 2014, 02:12 PM
if you associate the uncompressed rom file, file extensions with PJ.64 and and them as non steam games you might be able to launch them automatically that way.

http://i.imgur.com/kLaf1DTl.jpg (http://imgur.com/kLaf1DT)

cdoublejj
24th June 2014, 02:44 PM
http://i.imgur.com/kLaf1DTl.jpg (http://imgur.com/kLaf1DT)

http://i.imgur.com/Xvf6hoVl.png (http://imgur.com/Xvf6hoV)

cdoublejj
24th June 2014, 02:53 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3wqEFKTRu-8

stevethecow
19th December 2016, 06:46 PM
I even tried creating a shortcut to P64 and editing
It turns out if you select a shortcut when adding a game to steam it'll ignore all parameters and just launch the .exe... without my game. -.-


You can add launch parameters, go to the properties window (the one you set the name that will show up in your library) and one of the tabs has launch options.

eruiven
16th January 2017, 12:07 PM
Your reactions are really helpfull. Thanks!