PDA

View Full Version : possible 64 bit?

ziggyw
18th April 2009, 02:51 PM
I was wondering if it would be possible to make a 64bit version of PJ64. I'm a complete newb when it comes to programming languages and compiling them, so I have no idea if what I'm asking is a crazy suggestion or not.

I just thought I would ask about that since most systems coming out now have multi cored cpu's and over 4gb of ram. I personally just got a new laptop with a 64bit OS installed, and I really couldn't see myself going back to a 32bit os (hardware willing).

However like I said I'm not one for programming languages so I have absolutely no idea how crazy my request would be from a programming aspect.

squall_leonhart
18th April 2009, 04:47 PM
Theres absolutely no point.

ziggyw
18th April 2009, 05:48 PM
well, thats good enough for me lol. You guys can go ahead and delete this thread if you want.

dgtb1994
2nd May 2009, 05:09 PM
Theres absolutely no point.

Why is there no point?

tuffguy45
28th May 2009, 11:20 PM
While the benefits can be argued, in general 64bit applications run "better" than their 32 bit counterparts because they "move" more memmory at once (32bits more actually ;)

From a coding point of view I can understand why it wouldn't be worth it but, to say a 64bit application is the same performance wise as a 32bit is just wrong.

Shadud
30th May 2009, 12:18 AM
Why is there no point?

I would say because Project64 would not benefit from the 64bit architecture.

wuhlei
10th June 2009, 06:26 AM
While the benefits can be argued, in general 64bit applications run "better" than their 32 bit counterparts because they "move" more memmory at once (32bits more actually ;)

From a coding point of view I can understand why it wouldn't be worth it but, to say a 64bit application is the same performance wise as a 32bit is just wrong.