PDA

View Full Version : Randomly crashing


djdna
21st April 2009, 06:49 AM
alright first off i gotta say for the amount of time i'm able to play this is great games i had before i can once again beat...slowly ...alright so project64 randomly crashes at different times last night i was counting my blessings when it lasted 6hrs!!!!! haha ok so i don't know if this will help but maybe it will this is the report windows gave me(vista)

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Project64.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 424c7e6e
Fault Module Name: ntdll.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.0.6000.16386
Fault Module Timestamp: 4549bdc9
Exception Code: 80000003
Exception Offset: 00042ea8
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 8d13
Additional Information 2: cdca9b1d21d12b77d84f02df48e34311
Additional Information 3: 8d13
Additional Information 4: cdca9b1d21d12b77d84f02df48e34311

if that don't help just tell me what to do and maybe we can get this behind me haha also the main game i'm playing is turok:rage wars ....seems turok isn't all that stable so that might be the reason ...just played pokemon stadium 2 and didn't crash played for bout 1hr although just realized that while playing pokemon you can't see the info of the C-buttons but you can select them either way doesn't take a genius to figure that out so back to turok rage wars i'm thinking it's a turok series thing i think seeds of evil did it too....also when i activate the cheats it crashes....any ideas? thanks in advance

CA5
21st April 2009, 08:23 PM
Uninstall and reinstall? Unlike Squall and RJ, I'm no expert, so I can't say anything other than that. The cheats could be... corrupt or something, though.

djdna
21st April 2009, 09:48 PM
well it's definatly not a uninstall reinstall thing and the cheats aren't on 99% of the time

HatCat
22nd April 2009, 01:55 AM
The NTDLL library is primary of the Windows Vista core. If general crash messages are traced there it is most likely caused by Project64's re-compiler when using Vista. Other emulators using re-compilation like Nemu64 and Mupen64 also have this problem on the Vista OS.

Vista support has turned not long ago into another department of debugging.

If you want to keep Vista, you can always use 1964--which uses a unique re-compiler with time of its own style put in. In other aspects as well, 1964 seems to have the most support for Vista.
http://1964emu.emulation64.com/

The interpreter is more correct of an emulator; it's just the re-compiler and its supported combinations that speed up emulation. Try switching to the interpreter core as well to see if that helps the particular cheat codes that cause instability. This should also solve the crashes but result in significantly lower speed:

Having chosen "Settings..." from menu "Options" in Project64 make sure advanced settings aren't hidden. (Check this from the "Options" tab.) Apply changes.
Right-click any item in the list of games installed to Project64's browser of games, and choose setting "Edit Game Settings".
Set the "CPU core style" option to "Interpreter". Apply changes.
Otherwise you may have to stand the re-compiler and frequent save states to back up your positions in games in case crashes randomly happen.

There may be some crashes that can be reproduced with more consistency than others, but generally these general crash problems are random and frequent throughout the full game.

I had mostly noticed this system of problems to apply to games like Jet Force Gemini, but I hadn't access to Turok. Thanks

Smiff_
22nd April 2009, 07:44 AM
IIRC turok always was slightly unstable.. i doubt this is anything to do with Vista?
we probably an R4k recompiler issue with at least one Turok game.. can anyone confirm if its stable on interpreter?

Mdkcheatz
22nd April 2009, 11:19 AM
IIRC turok always was slightly unstable.. i doubt this is anything to do with Vista?
we probably an R4k recompiler issue with at least one Turok game.. can anyone confirm if its stable on interpreter?

I've never played Turok Wars, but i've played Turok 2 and Turok 3 with virtually very little issue. This is running on Windows XP Professional edition. If while cheats are on/off and error messages prevail then it's most likely not a cheat code issue, however, if cheat codes are added into the cht file wrongly or are extremely disorganized as in what has happened to me, then you are likely to experience many crashing.

So it very well could be an OS issue... maybe he should test on anothe PC with Winxp?

djdna
22nd April 2009, 11:53 AM
thanks guys i'll try it out see if it works ..as to the trying it on XP i'm on a laptop that doesn't have drivers for XP (stupid people) so i'll try to find a comp to try it on and if not i'll just load a basic xp all i need is the mouse anyways no internet or audio so i'll let you guys know

Mdkcheatz
22nd April 2009, 02:15 PM
thanks guys i'll try it out see if it works ..as to the trying it on XP i'm on a laptop that doesn't have drivers for XP (stupid people) so i'll try to find a comp to try it on and if not i'll just load a basic xp all i need is the mouse anyways no internet or audio so i'll let you guys know

Install Windows 7, it uses Vista drivers :P

Smiff_
22nd April 2009, 03:52 PM
if you can tell us whether it also crashes the same way on XP that would be very useful info thanks.

HatCat
24th April 2009, 12:27 AM
That specific crash message is traced to NTDLL for Jet Force Gemini as reproduced by a couple other Vista users, but the RSP audio signal option in the game settings is the only configuration to affect this problem (namely making the crashes to the same binary more frequent). Thus it may not pertain as much to the main core processing.

IIRC turok always was slightly unstable.. i doubt this is anything to do with Vista?
we probably an R4k recompiler issue with at least one Turok game.. can anyone confirm if its stable on interpreter?

There is another issue.
http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=132

It is fixed only by the interpreter if using the public version, but the beta re-compiler now plays it fine for the example save state uploaded.

djdna
1st May 2009, 07:43 AM
ok so that check marking something or rather...desktop thingy haha see above !!!! it worked now i can play HOURS of command and conquer without having to save all the time ...saving when you weren't allowed is like cheating and like i previously noted i don't cheat HAHAHA ok i do thanks works great ..