Project64 Forums

Project64 Forums (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/index.php)
-   Project 64 - v1.6 (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   problem with paper mario (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=353)

testikills 16th December 2008 05:52 PM

problem with paper mario
 
I started playing PM and got about an hour into the game. I had some minor graphic gliches throughout but nothing too serious. However, after a long cutscene with the princess in the castle, the game crashes with a whole bunch of errors.

anyone know if this can be fixed?

I tried it several times, and ever tried reloading the game from one of the internal saves,... I still get the same crash

CA5 16th December 2008 06:05 PM

Never crashed for me there... what exactly happens? What computer specs do you have? :)

testikills 16th December 2008 06:28 PM

specs are:

windows XP on core 2 duo. (recent install)
4gb ram
x1950xtx
Raptor HD


what happens:

princess goes out onto the balcony and the cut scene is about to end.
then I get countless errors:
Cache: Failed to translate: 0
Cache: Failed to translate: 20
Cache: Failed to translate: 40
and so on.... goes up in increments of 20 all the way over 10,000 lol

CA5 16th December 2008 06:55 PM

Well it could possibly be a bad rom mate... your specs seem OK. Try re-downloading it from another site, see if that works... :)

testikills 16th December 2008 07:37 PM

check your inbox CoF

RadeonUser 16th December 2008 08:32 PM

Well I played up to the point where Mario gets the 'Lucky Star' and no problems so far.

This was the U rom, verified to be [!] by GoodN64.

I played both regions of this game before PJ64 1.6 was released so I don't know why you'd be getting a crash.
Anything's possible though, some last minute change before 1.6 was released might have changed something.

I would love to have more information to go on too.
"Paper Mario" and "Crash" is all I got.

PJ64 version?
Plugins?
GoodN64 name of the rom?
Savestate / native save of where this is happening?
Are cheats being used?
Have you modified the rdb in any way?

These things are all very important for us to help you out.

I just happen to be the kind of tester who will go out and try to decipher the vague problems people report.

testikills 16th December 2008 10:10 PM

thanks for the response admin. heres some more info..

I installed a fresh version of pj64 the other day... so whatever version is available is the one im using.

the rom is (E)(M4)[!].z64

no cheats are being used and im using no plugins

I havent modified anything with the program, just changed to graphics to 1024x768

squall_leonhart 16th December 2008 11:40 PM

M4 is a modified rom, always try for the [!] version.

testikills 16th December 2008 11:54 PM

i see...do i have to start teh game over again? or can i somehow use my old savestate?

testikills 17th December 2008 12:11 AM

ok sorry for the bump, but i tried to load the savestate with the new rom and shockingly it didnt work :D

so now my question is does PJ64 have a fast forward button? I don't feel like watching the really boring and unnecessarily long dialog sequences over again


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.