Project64 Forums

Project64 Forums (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/index.php)
-   Project 64 - v2.x - Suggestions (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   possible 64 bit? (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=684)

ziggyw 18th April 2009 02:51 PM

possible 64 bit?
 
I was wondering if it would be possible to make a 64bit version of PJ64. I'm a complete newb when it comes to programming languages and compiling them, so I have no idea if what I'm asking is a crazy suggestion or not.

I just thought I would ask about that since most systems coming out now have multi cored cpu's and over 4gb of ram. I personally just got a new laptop with a 64bit OS installed, and I really couldn't see myself going back to a 32bit os (hardware willing).

However like I said I'm not one for programming languages so I have absolutely no idea how crazy my request would be from a programming aspect.

squall_leonhart 18th April 2009 04:47 PM

Theres absolutely no point.

ziggyw 18th April 2009 05:48 PM

well, thats good enough for me lol. You guys can go ahead and delete this thread if you want.

dgtb1994 2nd May 2009 05:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart (Post 7664)
Theres absolutely no point.

Why is there no point?

tuffguy45 28th May 2009 11:20 PM

While the benefits can be argued, in general 64bit applications run "better" than their 32 bit counterparts because they "move" more memmory at once (32bits more actually ;)

From a coding point of view I can understand why it wouldn't be worth it but, to say a 64bit application is the same performance wise as a 32bit is just wrong.

Shadud 30th May 2009 12:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dgtb1994 (Post 7982)
Why is there no point?

I would say because Project64 would not benefit from the 64bit architecture.

wuhlei 10th June 2009 06:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tuffguy45 (Post 8289)
While the benefits can be argued, in general 64bit applications run "better" than their 32 bit counterparts because they "move" more memmory at once (32bits more actually ;)

From a coding point of view I can understand why it wouldn't be worth it but, to say a 64bit application is the same performance wise as a 32bit is just wrong.

but the information is still processed one at a time? I heard in some situations 64 bit apps can slow down the system and is really only good for addressing over 3gig of ram?

mudlord/RED 10th June 2009 09:32 AM

Quote:

From a coding point of view I can understand why it wouldn't be worth it but, to say a 64bit application is the same performance wise as a 32bit is just wrong.
If you are so sure, post benchmarks that prove as such that PJ64 WILL benefit from a complete rewrite. You are not forgetting you have to rewrite the core entirely to take advantage of it though.:rolleyes:

wuhlei 12th June 2009 06:27 AM

check this out

Quote:

Originally Posted by windowshelp.microsoft.com (Post 8514)
What is the difference between 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Windows?


The terms 32-bit and 64-bit refer to the way a computer's processor (also called a CPU), handles information. The 64-bit version of Windows handles large amounts of random access memory (RAM) more effectively than a 32-bit system. For more details, go to A description of the differences between 32-bit versions of Windows Vista and 64-bit versions of Windows Vista online.

Quote:

Originally Posted by windowshelp.microsoft.com (Post 8514)
Would I benefit from using a 64-bit computer?


The benefits are most apparent when you have a large amount of random access memory (RAM) installed on your computer (typically 4 GB of RAM or more). Because a 64-bit operating system can handle large amounts of memory more efficiently than a 32-bit operating system can, a 64-bit system can be more responsive when running several programs at the same time and switching between them frequently.

For more information about the benefits of running 64-bit computers, see Understanding 64-bit PCs online.


Stewie 22nd June 2009 08:04 AM

a 64bit emulator could fully emulate the 64bit instructions on the n64 which could yield greater emulation accuracy, although it would require much more memory.

does make sense a 64bit "64bit console" emulator, although would require a code rewrite.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.