Project64 Forums

Project64 Forums (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/index.php)
-   Project 64 - v2.x - Suggestions (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Add 30 FPS Frame-Limiter (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=9038)

FumblesWolf 4th May 2018 07:08 PM

Add 30 FPS Frame-Limiter
 
Can we add a 30 FPS Frame-Limiter? Simple click function right under the "Remove Frame-Limiter" option.

1) The games were designed to run at 30 FPS/anything higher breaks some games./It's more authentic.

2) For those of us running potatoes that like consistency, not sudden drops from 60 to 20 frames per second.

3) Games already tend to run on the emulator natively at 60 FPS/there is already an option to remove the Frame Limit.

4) Simple user-friendly customization.

Side-note, I use Project 64 because as clusterf*cky as the N64 scene is, it's the most no fuss no muss thing available atm.

I'm not a diehard for replication at the cost of performance and gameplay, I just don't want the games to look feel or sound...off./Have to be a effing programmer just to fire up an old game/deal with bugs and drives and stuff/I want the same features the original console offered or better.

IE, start up and go about the same-ish as the console or better for us dumb-dumbs.

ExtremeDude2 5th May 2018 12:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FumblesWolf (Post 74049)
1) The games were designed to run at 30 FPS/anything higher breaks some games./It's more authentic.

If a game is running faster than it should, then frame limit is enabled, there is no need to set it to a specific FPS

Quote:

Originally Posted by FumblesWolf (Post 74049)

2) For those of us running potatoes that like consistency, not sudden drops from 60 to 20 frames per second.

Shouldn't be any reason for frame drops even on potatoes. Also setting the FPS any lower than the game is supposed to run is going to make it play in slow-mo the whole time.

Quote:

Originally Posted by FumblesWolf (Post 74049)
3) Games already tend to run on the emulator natively at 60 FPS/there is already an option to remove the Frame Limit.

They don't, they run at 60 VPS, FPS varies from game to game.

FumblesWolf 6th May 2018 11:13 PM

So...

When I use the FPS counter option in one of the default video plugins and it says 60 FPS, then suddenly drops to below 30 FPS...

...the game isn't actually running at 60 FPS/it's my problem if the game drops?

Side-note, games run way too fast with the Frame Limiter turned off.

Also, I understand that 30 FPS (or VPS??? whatever) is slower. I'd rather have consistent "slower" (around 30 FPS most of the time) performance than my game go from 60 to below 30 FPS. It's extremely distracting and kinda kills gameplay for me. Besides, these are N64 games, not modern games. I understand 30 FPS isn't the standard anymore, but it was back then for many games.

(You said "VPS"...I'm referring to what the FPS counter tells me.)

FumblesWolf 6th May 2018 11:15 PM

Additional sidenote, the difference between 30 FPS and 60 FPS for me is kinda meh. As long as it doesn't drop too far below 30, I don't care.

Lemme put it this way...what's more noticeable? 60 down to 20 or 30 down to 20?

Obviously, 60 down to 20.

ExtremeDude2 7th May 2018 01:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FumblesWolf (Post 74057)

Side-note, games run way too fast with the Frame Limiter turned off.

That's what it's supposed to do. Also, if you force a 60 FPS game to run at 30 FPS it will run at half speed (can't say that's very enjoyable).

FumblesWolf 8th May 2018 12:56 AM

K, to reply to your reply, I'd have to repeat what I said already, which is that I'd rather play some games at 30 fps because of more consistent gameplay etc...

but I'm gonna just assume you said "yeah, no, that feature is never gonna happen" and give up on this thread.

It would be an optional feature...in your opinion, it wouldn't be "enjoyable"...just like to some people, playing on a mouse and keyboard is not "enjoyable"...but it's there as an option.

=X= Smasherx74 =X= 8th May 2018 01:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FumblesWolf (Post 74067)
K, to reply to your reply, I'd have to repeat what I said already, which is that I'd rather play some games at 30 fps because of more consistent gameplay etc...

but I'm gonna just assume you said "yeah, no, that feature is never gonna happen" and give up on this thread.

It would be an optional feature...in your opinion, it wouldn't be "enjoyable"...just like to some people, playing on a mouse and keyboard is not "enjoyable"...but it's there as an option.

Most N64 games are running a 20-30 fps, some games like Smash and F Zero run at 60fps.



Quote:

Originally Posted by FumblesWolf (Post 74058)
Additional sidenote, the difference between 30 FPS and 60 FPS for me is kinda meh. As long as it doesn't drop too far below 30, I don't care.

Lemme put it this way...what's more noticeable? 60 down to 20 or 30 down to 20?

Obviously, 60 down to 20.


The difference between 30 fps and 60 fps is huge. You have 30 extra frames per second to make inputs.


Quote:

Originally Posted by FumblesWolf (Post 74057)
So...

When I use the FPS counter option in one of the default video plugins and it says 60 FPS, then suddenly drops to below 30 FPS...

...the game isn't actually running at 60 FPS/it's my problem if the game drops?

Side-note, games run way too fast with the Frame Limiter turned off.

Also, I understand that 30 FPS (or VPS??? whatever) is slower. I'd rather have consistent "slower" (around 30 FPS most of the time) performance than my game go from 60 to below 30 FPS. It's extremely distracting and kinda kills gameplay for me. Besides, these are N64 games, not modern games. I understand 30 FPS isn't the standard anymore, but it was back then for many games.

(You said "VPS"...I'm referring to what the FPS counter tells me.)

What game are you talking about and what plugin are you using.

retroben 8th May 2018 07:14 AM

I think the more sensible feature name would be to add a "frame skipper" to the emulator itself.
Kind of like how Dolphin Emulator has it,but I don't think it has a frame skip option anymore.

Or comparable to older system emulators where frame skip settings are more common.

Timothypoift 23rd February 2019 05:05 AM

Add 30 FPS Frame Limiter
 
Oh okay. So yo did a similar job on that did you. Any idea about how I might go about contacting this graham or have any pictures of that frame? Cheers


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.