Project64 Forums

Project64 Forums (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/index.php)
-   Project 64 - v2.x - Issues (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   BSOD issue with P64 V2.1 on laptop (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=4830)

Feyla 25th January 2015 01:00 PM

BSOD issue with P64 V2.1 on laptop
 
Hi,

I've been using P64 for a while to play Goldeneye, yesterday I set it up on my friends laptop, and sometimes when I run Goldeneye the laptop gets a BSOD error.

This does not happen every time but usually. I have tried changing the full screen resolution, turning AA/AF on and off, change the sync setting, but nothing seems to make a difference.

Worth noting that the laptop is on a fresh install of windows since yesterday, and has all updated drivers.

Can anyone help please?

ExtremeDude2 25th January 2015 02:31 PM

Update windows

anna kostya 26th January 2015 06:14 AM

Try compatibility mode set it to Windows XP (service Pack 2) that's how I fixed my BSOD problem.

Feyla 26th January 2015 01:49 PM

Thanks, I will try both and let you know

Feyla 29th January 2015 10:52 AM

Updating windows seemed to do the trick, thanks!

jaleswiftpaw 12th July 2015 03:46 PM

Getting BSODs as well.
 
Greetings everyone. Since I'm not a supporter and I'm not allowed to start a new thread, this is the most recent one I could find regarding my issue. I keep getting BSoDs no matter what game I attempt to run, the BSoD triggers exactly right before the emulator draws the game on screen. Of course, it doesn't happen all the time, but it happens quite frequently, like 80% of the time and it's really frustrating.

I managed to get the BSoD information via a BSoD viewer in case it proves helpful to you, guys. As you can see, it always starts with 0x0000003b and win32k.sys is mentioned.

Code:

A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage
to your computer.

The problem seems to be caused by the following file: win32k.sys

SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION

If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen,
restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow
these steps:

Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed.
If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer
for any Windows updates you might need.

If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware
or software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing.
If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart
your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then
select Safe Mode.

Technical Information:

*** STOP: 0x0000003b (0x00000000c0000005, 0xfffff9600010a86a, 0xfffff880059e5bb0,
0x0000000000000000)

*** win32k.sys - Address 0xfffff960000fe9b1 base at 0xfffff96000040000 DateStamp
0x4ce79a73

I've read that, in order to fix this issue, I had to update my Windows. Everything is up to date, even Service Pack 1 is installed (I'm running Windows 7).

These are my system's specs:

OS: Microsoft Windows 7 x64 Ultimate with Service Pack 1.
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.40 GHz.
Memory: 4 GB DDR3.
HDD: 1 TB SATA II.
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6850 1 GB GDDR5 PCIe 16X.

All device drivers are up to date. Only running stable drivers, no beta drivers. Also, I'm using Project64 with the default configuration and plugins.

dsx_ 12th July 2015 04:16 PM

There is a specific Windows Update that you can get through Windows Update in the control panel that fixes this issue, not sure which update it is though

jaleswiftpaw 12th July 2015 05:30 PM

I wish I could remember which one. I fixed the issue before, but I had to format my PC.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.