Project64 Forums

Project64 Forums (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/index.php)
-   Project 64 - v2.x - Issues (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Glide64 Plugin Not Scaling Fullscreen Properly (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=5492)

My LIfe Is Tech 21st January 2016 04:49 PM

Glide64 Plugin Not Scaling Fullscreen Properly
 
Whenever I use the Glide64 plugin, when I have my resolution set any lower than my real screen resolution, fullscreen will not upscale the image to fit my screen. Please note I am not referring to stretching the screen.

Usually when you have a lower resolution than your screen, the game/program will upscale it's pixels to fit your screen without changing the resolution nor the aspect ratio. In my case, it is not working, and using a resolution like 640 x 480 is tiny, and not upscaled in fullscreen.

It scales properly with Jabo's plugin however. But I needed to use Glide64 for Majora's Mask because there was a diagonal line in animations, like if VSync wasn't working, and I could never fix it.

Marcelo_20xx 21st January 2016 06:54 PM

Weird, it does the same thing you are expecting (fill the entire screen at the desired aspect ratio), just make sure you arent using "original size" as you aspect option...

My LIfe Is Tech 21st January 2016 07:15 PM

Using the Jabo plugin scales properly, however in Majora's Mask I get that diagonal line. Glide64 fixes the line, however does not scale properly. I have checked and my aspect ratio is set to 4:3, right where I want it.

I would like to play at a lower resolution such as 640 x 480, however selecting that makes the image tiny in fullscreen, and it does not scale. So I have to use 1024 x 768 to get a good performance to screen-size ratio. Is there something I need to change, or could this be a bug?

P.S. I also have to run Project 64 in compatibility mode for Windows XP SP3, otherwise it gives me a BSOD about win32k or something another. I've heard of the issue with PJ64 before.

V1del 22nd January 2016 06:02 PM

Set the resolution to your monitors resolution and enable force 4:3 in the extended glide64 options (might have to untick Hide Advanced Options in the General emu settings first), that should scale as far as possible, does it not?

My LIfe Is Tech 23rd January 2016 01:46 AM

Yes it does, however that also puts more stress on the PC, and therefore induces lag in the game. Thus why I want it to scale at 640 x 480 like I can with Dolphin, DOSBox, and other such emulators. It's strange how it's not scaling, and there's no way to zoom in.

My monitor is 1600 x 900, here are my specifications:
Intel Core i7 720QM Quad @ 1.6 GHz, up to 2.8 GHz(1) 2.4 GHz(2) 1.7 GHz(3 or 4)
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870 1 GB VRAM
Kingston 8 GB RAM

My LIfe Is Tech 29th January 2016 05:06 AM

So, is this a bug, and will it be fixed? :confused: Also can the diagonal line in the Jabo plugin in Majora's Mask be fixed?

dshap 28th January 2017 05:48 AM

Found this by Googling "glide64 fullscreen resolution".

I had pretty much the same problem as the OP. In my case I was running Windows 7 via Bootcamp on a MacBook Pro 15" retina, which has a 2880x1800 resolution. The high resolution is apparently too much for my machine to handle (it crashes very predictably at that resolution while doing certain things in Majora's Mask), and changing it to 1440x900 makes it run fine, but it resulted in an undesirable small viewport, 50% the size of my screen, when I went into full-screen mode.

I fixed it by changing the scaling settings in my Nvidia control panel. I changed the scaling mode to "full screen" and checked the box that says "Override the scaling mode set by games and programs" and it worked perfectly.

I assume ATI has similarly configurable scaling options.

SoAmusing777 2nd February 2017 07:00 AM

same
 
Had same issue as well. Don't seem to have it on my monitor connected via HDMI from my laptop

SoAmusing777 2nd February 2017 07:04 AM

Don't see it
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dshap (Post 68960)
Found this by Googling "glide64 fullscreen resolution".

I had pretty much the same problem as the OP. In my case I was running Windows 7 via Bootcamp on a MacBook Pro 15" retina, which has a 2880x1800 resolution. The high resolution is apparently too much for my machine to handle (it crashes very predictably at that resolution while doing certain things in Majora's Mask), and changing it to 1440x900 makes it run fine, but it resulted in an undesirable small viewport, 50% the size of my screen, when I went into full-screen mode.

I fixed it by changing the scaling settings in my Nvidia control panel. I changed the scaling mode to "full screen" and checked the box that says "Override the scaling mode set by games and programs" and it worked perfectly.

I assume ATI has similarly configurable scaling options.

I don't see this option in my control panel. Got a GTX 860m. Care to upload a screenshot of this?

Frank74 2nd February 2017 04:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SoAmusing777 (Post 69001)
I don't see this option in my control panel. Got a GTX 860m. Care to upload a screenshot of this?

I have it on Intel HD graphics on my laptop.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/z4odrhakyd...telcp.JPG?dl=1

I have options, Maintain Display Scaling, Maintain Aspect Ratio and Scale Full Screen.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.