Project64 Forums

Project64 Forums (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/index.php)
-   Project 64 - v2.x - Suggestions (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Project64 as a x64 exclusive? (64 bit OS) (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=4053)

Con 13th September 2013 02:49 AM

Project64 as a x64 exclusive? (64 bit OS)
 
Hey, I was wondering if a x64 (PC architecture) CPU version of Project64 would ever be made?

If so, what benefits could come of using Project64 as a 64bit application?

uyjulian 13th September 2013 04:18 PM

nope... project64 is really outdated and buggy, you should try mupen64plus.

the_randomizer 13th September 2013 05:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by uyjulian (Post 50003)
nope... project64 is really outdated and buggy, you should try mupen64plus.

With a GUI frontend. CLI-only sucks.

HatCat 14th September 2013 04:02 AM

I like to invoke the old Mupen64 in pure CLI without using the Win32 GUI made by Shadowprince. :)

</trollin>

</butalsokindaseriousXP>

the_randomizer 14th September 2013 04:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BatCat (Post 50012)
I like to invoke the old Mupen64 in pure CLI without using the Win32 GUI made by Shadowprince. :)

</trollin>

</butalsokindaseriousXP>

I see what you did there....

HatCat 14th September 2013 05:36 AM

How am I supposed to get some honiez with the GUI?

When I'm like, "Yo baby, look at mah gooey!", you know what they say to me?
They fukken laugh!

When I show them that CLI...
...ahhh...
Get ALL da honiez with dat CLI! :D

autofire372 15th September 2013 12:34 AM

Yeah, I for one will never use Mupen64Plus, as I have never been able to get any of its GUI frontends working on Windows, HATE operating from the command line, and don't want to have to boot into Linux Mint every time I want to play some N64. Even if it did have a working GUI on Windows, there remains the fact that Mupen's input plugin still lacks support for rumble on anything other than Linux. I consider its lack of transfer pak emulation (yes, I do occasionally play Pokémon Stadium) to be a deal breaker as well.

HatCat 15th September 2013 12:39 AM

If there is a working GUI for Mupen64Plus on Windows, that means you could just change the input plugin to something which does support the transfer pak, like N-Rage's DirectInput.

And there are several things you can do in CLI which you can't do using a GUI.
Like using a flexible batch commands script to invoke multiple parameters at once to a program's function, rather than clicking, dragging and typing a crap load of things in a GUI.

But, personal point of view. Not saying you're wrong.

autofire372 15th September 2013 12:48 AM

I think mupen64plus doesn't follow zilmar's plugin spec, meaning it is incompatible with N-Rage...

HatCat 15th September 2013 01:00 AM

It is still based closely on the zilmar plugin spec, so porting the plugin over would not be difficult work at all.
They omitted zilmar from the spec file credits though, even though they obviously resemble his.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.