Project64 Forums

Project64 Forums (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/index.php)
-   Site News (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Site Upgraded (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=1917)

zilmar 4th October 2010 04:17 AM

Site Upgraded
 
I upgraded parts of the site. Still more needs to be done in finish cleaning up, but if something is not working correctly reply to this thread.

If you have any suggestions as well.

squall_leonhart 4th October 2010 06:13 AM

the logo background is supposed to be pink?

zilmar 4th October 2010 07:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart (Post 15743)
the logo background is supposed to be pink?

Yup ... well for alpha testers

Blue backgound - unregistered
Yellow - Registered Users
Green - Beta Testers
Red - Alpha testers

squall_leonhart 4th October 2010 10:34 AM

ok makes sense :)

HatCat 5th October 2010 01:25 AM

http://www.pj64-emu.com/
HTTP 500 Internal Server Error

On this PC I have to use IE7.

Color creativity is something I spend a lot of time on. As long as you do the same in your perspective you can't go wrong.
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j1...o/mips_isa.gif

squall_leonhart 5th October 2010 02:32 AM

"Welecome Squall_Leonhart"


ooopps, typo

HatCat 5th October 2010 02:38 AM

Actually it's just a 403 Forbidden error now. The main site works at this instant in time, but when I log in to the main site no matter what credentials I enter I always get the 403 error.

HatCat 5th October 2010 02:55 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Got it to work by logging off of this forum and leaving the "Remember Me" field checked on the main site login. Attachment.

Maybe I'm the only one here who's been getting all these login / cookie storage issues with this forum and the main site interchangeably because I'm one of the only users who changed the user name field.

zilmar 5th October 2010 05:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rswedlow (Post 15765)
Got it to work by logging off of this forum and leaving the "Remember Me" field checked on the main site login. Attachment.

Maybe I'm the only one here who's been getting all these login / cookie storage issues with this forum and the main site interchangeably because I'm one of the only users who changed the user name field.

if you clear your cookies are you able to reproduce at all ?

zilmar 5th October 2010 07:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart (Post 15762)
"Welecome Squall_Leonhart"


ooopps, typo

should be fixed

squall_leonhart 5th October 2010 10:18 AM

sometimes theres a "You are not authorised to view this resource" when logging in on the site :\

zilmar 5th October 2010 11:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart (Post 15768)
sometimes theres a "You are not authorised to view this resource" when logging in on the site :\

Do you get this only when you login? is that from the login page, or the module in the top right hand corner.

squall_leonhart 5th October 2010 11:28 AM

both, i believe its an issue with the expired cookies, as it doesn't occur if i delete the cookies first.

regarding the forum
Occasionally, though i have it set to stay logged in sometimes i will load up the forum again and not be logged in.

HatCat 5th October 2010 08:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zilmar (Post 15766)
if you clear your cookies are you able to reproduce at all ?

To reproduce, I cleared the cookies by logging out of the main web site, which automatically logged me off of this forum board as well. I logged back on this forum and then the main web site--without "Remember Me" checked--and got the 403 Forbidden error page.

If I stay logged off off this forum board, I can log on to the main website with "Remember Me" checked. I have never been able to log on without that option checked.

Quote:

Originally Posted by zilmar (Post 15767)
should be fixed

If you're going to fix typos, there is a misspell of "forum" as "fourm" on the welcome page and "available" as "avaliable".
"Project64" is a proper noun, so "project64" is a misspell of "Project64". "eBay" is not a counterexample; it just uses camel notation to construct an artificial noun and hence is neither a proper noun nor a common noun as is a capitalized unofficial noun. If the word is artifically constructed, capitalization may not always make the first letter of that word uppercase, but you should retain consistency about capitalization. No hard feelings though--I've corrected grammar errors in my teachers' grammar books. :P Capitalization, on the other hand, pertains to spelling, actually, not grammar.

Speaking of consistency, in some of MIPS' official documentation on the main CPU instructions, they use "From" in their instruction names and "from" in other instantations of those instructions (or "Move From Coprocessor 1" in their instruction documentation while "Move from Coprocessor 1" in their alphabetical listing of all instructions). Prepositions shorter than five letters long are not capitalized in title case, so they got it right 50% of the time. OMG OFF-TOPIC1121!1

I'm more concerned about the large font size applied throughout the entire text on the welcome page. (See attached screen from before post.) If that's not a glitch it looks ugly imo; that font size is much more suitable for the "Welcome..." text than all of the informational, non-title text below it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart (Post 15768)
sometimes theres a "You are not authorised to view this resource" when logging in on the site :\

I used to frequently get that error message.

zilmar 7th October 2010 02:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart (Post 15768)
sometimes theres a "You are not authorised to view this resource" when logging in on the site :\

was thinking when you get this, has the page been loaded before hand, or was it pre loaded from a previous time you where browsing

HatCat 7th October 2010 05:30 AM

GAH!!! You ruined my chance to do a 2X combo attack. I was going to say before time ran out, the issue with Remember Me is fixed, lets me log in whether or not I checked it.
Though it still cites the internal server error if I'm logged on to this forum--but not the main web site--then log on to the main web site.

The welcome text looks great now, much better than the 72-bazillion point-size font down across the whole page.

Quote:

Originally Posted by zilmar (Post 15802)
was thinking when you get this, has the page been loaded before hand, or was it pre loaded from a previous time you where browsing

As for that issue I'd always get that if I loaded it some time earlier in the day but came back to it. It wasn't in another tab of my browser iirc.

HatCat 7th October 2010 05:32 AM

2http://wwwX COMBO ATTACK!!1@

squall_leonhart 7th October 2010 07:27 AM

it only occurs if cookies exist fro the main site due to logging in previously.

1337 7th October 2010 04:03 PM

Seeing as I'm already registered

When I try to donate, the username is already chosen and therefore unable to donate and not help you guys.

Here's what I get when I try to do it:

http://a.yfrog.com/img834/8206/donate1.jpg
http://a.yfrog.com/img256/2594/donate2f.jpg



Any ideas how to fix this?

nicholash 7th October 2010 06:59 PM

try going to
http://www.pj64-emu.com/site-membership/

Wiwwe 7th October 2010 07:36 PM

Looks like adblock will block some non-wanted elements from the site (including Donate 20$ USD -button). This can be luckily edited via filters or disabling adblock temporary.

HatCat 7th October 2010 07:53 PM

Yes, luckily, considering blockers waste more time than protect. I'd rather use adblock on an inclusive filter basis than an exclusive one, but that's only me since I go to the same or similar sites every time.

Because the log in with the main site and the forum is in sync there is no more issue with log in that I can find.

squall_leonhart 7th October 2010 10:22 PM

um... lol.

HatCat 7th October 2010 10:29 PM

http://i669.photobucket.com/albums/v...69681958ik.jpg

1337 7th October 2010 11:31 PM

ABP was what was messing up the page......

I do thank you for the help and have donated my 20 to help further this fun and exciting cause.

1337 7th October 2010 11:33 PM

http://img844.imageshack.us/img844/9747/sfdsfdy.png


Now when I try to download the beta version I get this.....

WTH?

HatCat 7th October 2010 11:42 PM

After I log in I roll the mouse over the "Downloads" menu and pick "Beta Downloads". Is that what you did?

1337 8th October 2010 12:11 AM

all is forgiven and have the beta section now.......

Yippie

HatCat 8th October 2010 12:16 AM

http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j1...dlo/fatbuu.png

And welcome to the development support group.

1337 8th October 2010 12:24 AM

uh ohz

getting 500 internal service error on main site?

WTF?

NVM...decided to work now


EDIT: The site keeps refusing me to login or do any thing and then this came along

http://img828.imageshack.us/img828/2568/pj64.jpg

HatCat 8th October 2010 01:04 AM

Yes it seems there is much branching code before the internal server error message.
If you're okay now then that's good, but it might happen again later. Thanks to Mr. zilmar it's all fixed for me, but if it happens to you again make note of what you did to receive that message.

Do you have any problems logging in to the site though?

If you see the pop-up ads like the one you took the picture of they were part of the survey compensation design done by Mr. zilmar. They used to appear for everyone, but for some reason they don't appear for me now. If you need a link to the public versions from that page I can just give you that link for you if that trouble happens, and the 1.6 public version is mirrored as a ZIP archive on the beta downloads page.

1337 8th October 2010 01:13 AM

For rite now at least the forum and the main site are working without any problems.....

To see what the problem was when the page wouldn't load, I tried it in IE8 and it said the 500 internal service error.

The spam survey thing I think just popped up for some randomn reason unknown to me.....

However, in the event that I get hit with the 500 error again, is there a way that I could contact someone to get some help?

HatCat 8th October 2010 01:15 AM

Oh okay. To help verify I have IE8 as well, so if it happens again, let zilmar know. You may PM him or post in this thread.

If you find it happens on a consistent basis, that is, by clicking certain links or doing certain things on the web site to always get the 500 error, I can check it on IE8 over here, but only Mr. zilmar would know about the source.

zilmar 8th October 2010 02:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by D41145H4CK (Post 15849)
Now when I try to download the beta version I get this.....

WTH?

How did you get to that page?

1337 8th October 2010 02:46 AM

One other thing not related to login and viewing problems......

Bug tracker redirects to personalized link page.....

still working on this part?

1337 8th October 2010 02:46 AM

I don't think I was logged in properly

zilmar 8th October 2010 02:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rswedlow (Post 15856)
Oh okay. To help verify I have IE8 as well, so if it happens again, let zilmar know. You may PM him or post in this thread.

If you find it happens on a consistent basis, that is, by clicking certain links or doing certain things on the web site to always get the 500 error, I can check it on IE8 over here, but only Mr. zilmar would know about the source.

I have been trying to replicate the issue and have not been able to. I know it is happening for you just not sure how to fix it.

zilmar 8th October 2010 03:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by D41145H4CK (Post 15868)
One other thing not related to login and viewing problems......

Bug tracker redirects to personalized link page.....

still working on this part?

Bug tracker login is guest/guest only a small couple of people can update it.

I need to at somestage have a good go through of all the bugs and see what still applies/should be added.

zilmar 8th October 2010 03:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rswedlow (Post 15854)
If you see the pop-up ads like the one you took the picture of they were part of the survey compensation design done by Mr. zilmar. They used to appear for everyone, but for some reason they don't appear for me now.

If your loged in to the site it does not show.

HatCat 8th October 2010 03:05 AM

Heh I see. The link though, that was weird yeah. The /support-us part of the URL was already unusual; the ItemID=5 after it was a complete mix.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.