Project64 Forums

Project64 Forums (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/index.php)
-   Open Discussion (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Computer Build (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=3196)

TheLegendaryJames 25th July 2012 04:14 AM

Computer Build
 
So I am thinking about building a computer. This will be my first time so I can't get any noobier. I just want to know if all the components are compatible. So here it is:
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____
Case: Diablotek REACTION CPA-8817D3 Black INSIDE BLACK Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case USB 3.0 max VGA LONG CARD

CPU: Intel Core i7-3820 Sandy Bridge-E 3.6GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 2011 130W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80619i73820

GPU: ASUS HD7750-1GD5-V2 Radeon HD 7750 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card

Memory: AMD Entertainment Edition 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Desktop Memory Model AE34G1339U2

Motherboard: ASUS P9X79 LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Power Supply: Diablotek DA Series PSDA250 250W ATX Power Supply

Optical Drive: ASUS Black Blu-ray Drive SATA Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS - OEM

Storage: Seagate Barracuda ST320DM000 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So thats all. I may change the power supply and case soon. If you have had any of these parts before I'd like to hear your opinion on any of them. And I want to know if these will all work if I am able to build a computer. Thanks in advance if anybody bothers with this post.

squall_leonhart 25th July 2012 07:10 AM

you will want DDR3 12800 (1600mhz) or higher with SB/SBE. Especially if you intend on overclocking. AVX instructions have been found to be memory bandwidth hungry.

I would recommend you invest in more than 4GB however, something like the Corsair Vengeance 16GB quad channel kit would go really well. This kit, unlike the AMD memory, includes an XMP (Intel spec memory profiles) that auto sets the correct voltages and timings for the dram. Relying on JDEC auto values is risky.

a second hdd to keep games/roms off the boot drive would be good too, saves having to grab everything again if a virus mysteriously kills your OS.

TheLegendaryJames 25th July 2012 08:50 AM

Sorry, but what is "SB/SBE". I have no experience with overclocking. XMP would prevent the CPU from overclocking at unstable? Would XMP be relevant if I were not to overclock? I don't know if I should overclock since I don't know how to.

I have had my game saves and roms backed up for a very long time.

ExtremeDude2 25th July 2012 12:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheLegendaryJames (Post 40909)
Sorry, but what is "SB/SBE".

SandyBridge Enthusiast

squall_leonhart 25th July 2012 08:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheLegendaryJames (Post 40909)
Sorry, but what is "SB/SBE". I have no experience with overclocking. XMP would prevent the CPU from overclocking at unstable? Would XMP be relevant if I were not to overclock? I don't know if I should overclock since I don't know how to.

I have had my game saves and roms backed up for a very long time.

XMP is still relatively relevant

a friend recently updated to IB (Ivy Bridge) and the memory he got has no XMP profiles, and the JDEC profiles apply the incorrect voltage, he was getting bsods and strange performance glitches as the bios was applying 1.58v instead of 1.5.

also, with corsair sticks, you usually get a decent warranty term in case of failure.

Even without overclocking, the base rated dram for Sandbridge E is 1600. even at stock the AVX instructions can saturate the memory controller.

TheLegendaryJames 26th July 2012 01:37 AM

How does CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M1A1600C9 sound? It supports XMP too. Just not as much GB. Also quick question: what would be better if these both had the same specs: 8GB(2 x 4GB) or 8GB(4 x 2GB)? Would they both perform at the same speed? Also could you mix RAM with different companies (I assume not)? A little off topic, but I heard if you use AMD GPU and AMD CPU it will work better together than AMD GPU and Intel CPU. Is that true? Sorry for all the damn questions, but I'm pretty curious.

squall_leonhart 26th July 2012 01:41 AM

Quote:

what would be better if these both had the same specs: 8GB(2 x 4GB) or 8GB(4 x 2GB)? Would they both perform at the same speed? Also could you mix RAM with different companies (I assume not)?
2x4GB is a dual channel kit (Sandy bridge / IvyBridge)
4x2GB is a quad channel kit (Sandy Bridge E)

the quad channel kit is much faster and would allow the highest performance per core.

TheLegendaryJames 26th July 2012 04:21 AM

Ah, that makes sense. So then do you think a G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9Q-8GBXL would work fine? I should get a fan don't you think? What about a soundcard?

squall_leonhart 26th July 2012 05:19 AM

audio perception is quite personal so i can't tell you which card is better than another.

TheLegendaryJames 26th July 2012 07:44 AM

Changes
 
Iv'e actually decided to make some changes. I think I'm going to go with:

Case: Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case with Upgraded USB 3.0

Power Supply: Antec NEO ECO 620C 620W Continuous Power ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

Sound Card: ASUS Xonar D1 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card

This is gonna be hella expensive :(, but If I work enough it will hopefully payoff.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.