Project64 Forums

Project64 Forums (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/index.php)
-   Open Discussion (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   New LLE RSP Plugin (accurate, fast but untested?) (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=3618)

theboy181 5th October 2014 10:21 AM

Hatcat

The Force CPU-RSP option in your latest RSP plugin states that its for games like Stunt Racer 64.

When I try to load Stunt Racer 64 I'm getting an error

Unknown memory action - Emulation Stopped.

Is there something I'm missing?

ExtremeDude2 5th October 2014 01:38 PM

Are you using 1.6 or 2.x?

HatCat 5th October 2014 05:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by theboy181 (Post 57561)
Unknown memory action - Emulation Stopped.

Yeah, 2.1 error message.

I had to switch from Azimer's XAudio WIP4 to something else like Jabo's DirectSound to fix it. It's a crash in the AI for trying to play sound without using AiDacrateChanged to initialize DirectX first.

It also worked in Azi WIP2, but was a regression in WIP4 I guess. Azimer says he'll have it fixed soon or you can just roll back to the older wip temporarily. Either way Jabo's and the No Sound plugin should fix that crash as well.

Vardius2985 5th October 2014 08:59 PM

I'm trying to use this LLE RSP in PJ64 2.1 and am having a problem with it. If I either try to start a game or configure the RSP, it gives an error message of "Failed to read config." I'm wondering if there's a special way to install it like for the "Pixel Perfect Plugin?" Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thank you! :)

HatCat 5th October 2014 09:08 PM

Another thing I've been meaning to adjust in the next release. >.<

lol, for anyone who wonders what it's like, you already know--I'm as impatient with myself as anyone else impatient for release. :p

Well, I won't ask you to read the entire manual, but in the archive you downloaded should be a file named "rsp_conf.cfg". Unless you're using Project64 2.0 (as opposed to Project64 2.1 which almost certainly you are using), this file goes in the same directory as Project64.exe. Then that error message you mentioned should stop happening.

Vardius2985 5th October 2014 09:23 PM

I just tried putting the config file in the root of the PJ64 folder and I'm still getting the error message when starting a game or trying to configure the plugin. :(

HatCat 5th October 2014 10:44 PM

When you do try to configure the plugin, does a GUI with 4 checkboxes eventually show up?

If not, then the sp_cfgui.exe also wasn't found in the correct folder.

If so, just click "Save & Quit". It will generate the missing .cfg file for you if one was not found already, and you won't have to worry about installing it yourself.

And if that fails, actually, you might be using Project64 2.0 and not 2.1?? There was a bug causing this in 2.0. If you think this might apply, then try putting sp_cfgui.exe and sp_conf.cfg in /Screenshots/Plugin/ (yes, Plugin subfolder under Screenshots, which you may have to create yourself), not the root EXE folder.

Vardius2985 6th October 2014 01:22 AM

For whatever reason it works now. I'm not sure why exactly, but I'm just thankful it works now! I'll move the file you mentioned to the proper place so I will be able to configure it. What is a good emulator/gfx plugin combination for graphic intensive games that combines good accuracy/speed? I'm using PJ64 2.1 just as fyi.

HatCat 6th October 2014 01:44 AM

Don't intend to brag, but I don't know of a RSP plugin faster than this one. Sometimes (in fact, a lot of times, especially for simple scalar routines that go on in a higher concentration), the RSP recompiler plugin for Project64 will be a bit faster than my interpreter (especially if you're not using the SSSE3 build, which is just plain rsp.dll in this latest release). That and their recompiler bugs out in LLE gfx for a lot of games. All things considered, I don't see much purpose in using a LLE RSP plugin besides this one, if I may say so myself, but if you don't mind HLE there are always several alternatives.

Although, I can't say the same for graphics. I think the most convenient thing for you to do, is to use Jabo's Direct3D8 1.7.x, since that supports both HLE and LLE graphics in one plugin...but cannot be used on non-Project64 emulator. This way you can switch between fast HLE, and slow but more accurate LLE, just by toggling the RSP setting in my config without having to change graphics plugins.

If you only want LLE and not HLE, then z64gl is also fine, and I think faster without its double-threading attempts. It will also have some graphics bugs in the RDP, that Jabo's plugin doesn't have, as well as vice versa. Even though z64gl is probably the fastest LLE graphics plugin that isn't pixel-accurate, it's only capable of running games in full-speed where the RSP microcodes sent for LLE aren't the bottleneck.

The easiest way to guarantee accuracy is to use angrylion's RDP, which is in my OpenGL plugin you just got working in the other thread. Needless to say, it shouldn't be easy for you to see anything wrong with it, but it's also easily the slowest of the 3 options.

Vardius2985 6th October 2014 02:07 AM

I'm definitely going to stick with this RSP plugin. How slow will Jabo's Direct 3D8 1.7.x using the LLE side of it when the RSP is set to LLE be just out of curiosity? Also where can I find future versions of this RSP plugin? Keep up the good work! :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.