Project64 Forums

Project64 Forums (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/index.php)
-   Project 64 - v1.6 (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Audio Problems - Unknown Cause (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=903)

Fernin 15th July 2009 09:04 PM

Audio Problems - Unknown Cause
 
I'm not sure what it is, but lately, the audio on Project 64 v 1.6 has been screwy. I tried switching to Zilmar's audio plugin, but it gave me the same screwed up sound. The sound sort of stutters, it repeats about a half second of sound endlessly. I haven't had this problem with any other program, so I don't think it's my sound card or drivers, but I copied the emulator to my other computer, and it worked perfectly on that one...

I have no idea what's going wrong with it, any thoughts?

Since I'm guessing they'll be needed, here's my laptop's specs...

Toshiba Satellite P205D
AMD Turion 64 bit Processor, 2.2 ghz
2 gb RAM
Vista Home Premium 32 bit OS
Realtek High Definition Audio, and ATI Function Driver for High Definition Audio

Edit: It's also worth noting that when I start up any game at all, it has no sound at all. It's when I load a save state that the sound kicks in.

Gir489 15th July 2009 09:10 PM

I had the same thing with my AMD Athlon 64.

Once I switched to a Core2 Quad Q6600, the problem went away.

I always thought it was my speakers.

EDIT: Mine's a desktop.

Truth Unknown 15th July 2009 11:39 PM

Fernin, is the volume on Jabo's DirectSound Plug-in (assuming it's the one used before zilmar's) turned down?


Quote:

Originally Posted by Gir489 (Post 9111)
I had the same thing with my AMD Athlon 64.

Once I switched to a Core2 Quad Q6600, the problem went away.

I always thought it was my speakers.

EDIT: Mine's a desktop.

Not really helpful and suggests nothing.

Fernin 16th July 2009 01:35 AM

Jabo's is the one I'm using, and the volume is set at max. Turning the volume down doesn't fix the stuttering any, it just makes it quieter. ;)

HatCat 16th July 2009 03:03 AM

This can be really bad question, but does sync game to audio help?
For zilmar's audio in the config there should be a pre-buffer slider which controls some frequency.

Fernin 16th July 2009 03:57 AM

Nope, checking Sync game to audio doesn't change anything. I fiddled with that slider, but it just gave me different pitches of stuttering sound.

Truth Unknown 16th July 2009 07:11 AM

Do you still have the problem with no sound when you start Emulation?

Also do you have any new applications that use sound while you use PJ64?

Fernin 16th July 2009 05:21 PM

Yes, I still have the problem with no sound when I start emulation. I also just went through loading different save states in a couple of games, sometimes I got no sound after loading, sometimes I got stuttering sound.

I don't have any new applications using sound, even if I test PJ64 all by itself, it does this.

Edit: I just deleted the emulator and downloaded a fresh copy, but that didn't change anything, unfortunately.

Truth Unknown 16th July 2009 09:25 PM

Do you have any power saving settings/modes on?

Fernin 17th July 2009 02:33 AM

No, I'm plugged in, I almost never use the battery.


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.