Project64 Forums

Project64 Forums (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/index.php)
-   Project 64 - v2.x - Suggestions (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Jabo's Direct3D8 1.7.0.57 ver 5 Advance config? (http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=3649)

Jorchking 23rd April 2013 05:48 AM

Jabo's Direct3D8 1.7.0.57 ver 5 Advance config?
 
Well in previous version the Advance configuration of Direct 1.7.0.57 ver 5 appear, like the Jabo Direct3D6 1.6 version.

But in pj64 do not appear the advanced options.

I need this because is the "Force alpha blending" to work perfectly Mario Tennis 64.

squall_leonhart 23rd April 2013 07:25 AM

you enable show advanced settings at the emulator level.

Jorchking 23rd April 2013 07:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by squall_leonhart (Post 45738)
you enable show advanced settings at the emulator level.

XDDD Fixed

There is a way to use the Glide64 plugin? This do not appear in the list of "plugins". Is not compatible with 2.0?

Tasoulis 23rd April 2013 05:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jorchking (Post 45739)
There is a way to use the Glide64 plugin? This do not appear in the list of "plugins". Is not compatible with 2.0?

Yes, Glide64 works with 2.0

Just place the correct files at the correct directories. Place "Glide64.dll" and "Glide64.ini" files to Plugins/GFX folder and "glide3x.dll" to the main folder where Project64.exe is.

ExtremeDude2 23rd April 2013 05:49 PM

Or use the new glide zilmar made that doesn't need the wrapper :3

zilmar 23rd April 2013 07:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tasoulis (Post 45757)
Yes, Glide64 works with 2.0

Just place the correct files at the correct directories. Place "Glide64.dll" and "Glide64.ini" files to Plugins/GFX folder and "glide3x.dll" to the main folder where Project64.exe is.

this is why I am working on a version to integrate better with pj64 because there is a lot of interest in glide64 and a lot of people have problems installing it.

ExtremeDude2 23rd April 2013 08:12 PM

But will it fall back to the .ini if the RDB is not found? Say for instance if someone is using a different emu

zilmar 23rd April 2013 08:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ExtremeDude2 (Post 45767)
But will it fall back to the .ini if the RDB is not found? Say for instance if someone is using a different emu

no, I am trying to get it better integrated with pj64 not making sure that it works with other emulators.

actually it will not directly touch the rdb, it is actually calling the emu to handle the settings.

Maybe I can go back to getting the ini in place if the settings is not there, but I am not going to do that in the first version.

Jorchking 24th April 2013 01:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tasoulis (Post 45757)
Yes, Glide64 works with 2.0

Just place the correct files at the correct directories. Place "Glide64.dll" and "Glide64.ini" files to Plugins/GFX folder and "glide3x.dll" to the main folder where Project64.exe is.


Yes I put it in that directory, but do not appear.



Quote:

Originally Posted by zilmar (Post 45768)
no, I am trying to get it better integrated with pj64 not making sure that it works with other emulators.

actually it will not directly touch the rdb, it is actually calling the emu to handle the settings.

Maybe I can go back to getting the ini in place if the settings is not there, but I am not going to do that in the first version.

Well, thansk really the Glide 64 do not appear in the PJ64 2.0 list D:.

I have the last version (I guess) of GLide64 but do not appear (Glide Final 8 may 2012)

squall_leonhart 24th April 2013 03:20 AM

doin it wrong.

Jorchking 24th April 2013 04:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by squall_leonhart (Post 45789)
doin it wrong.

C:\Program Files\Project64 2.0\Plugin\GFX

I don't think that is wrong, because the Mudlord Rice video plugin appear and is in that folder

the_randomizer 24th April 2013 05:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jorchking (Post 45791)
C:\Program Files\Project64 2.0\Plugin\GFX

I don't think that is wrong, because the Mudlord Rice video plugin appear and is in that folder

Needs to go in project64 2.0\plugin\ not in GFX.

http://i.imgur.com/CWp8RWk.jpg

Jorchking 24th April 2013 08:29 AM

Nope, same problem:

http://i755.photobucket.com/albums/x...ps56fbcd3f.png

this is the only plugin that do not detect the 2.0

squall_leonhart 24th April 2013 09:12 AM

and what of the root emulator contents....

the_randomizer 24th April 2013 02:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jorchking (Post 45803)
Nope, same problem:

this is the only plugin that do not detect the 2.0

Then you're doing something wrong. Glide 64 works just fine in PJ64 2.0.0.14 on my end.

http://i.imgur.com/L5Mcevf.jpg

Look at the version no. of the emulator and plugin drop down box. Glide64.dll in the plugin directory, glide3x.dll in the emulator directory. If those files are in the right places and it still doesn't work, I don't know what to say. The plugin isn't at fault if it works for other people; it's your end.

Tasoulis 24th April 2013 05:01 PM

Well, i have the plugin in the plugin/GFX folder and it works that way.

Try putting it in the 1.6 plugins folder and see if that works for you.

Jorchking 24th April 2013 10:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tasoulis (Post 45813)
Well, i have the plugin in the plugin/GFX folder and it works that way.

Try putting it in the 1.6 plugins folder and see if that works for you.

This is very rare, And the only download is an executable file in homepage.

Someone have a Portable version please?

Jorchking 25th April 2013 08:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jorchking (Post 45827)
This is very rare, And the only download is an executable file in homepage.

Someone have a Portable version please?

"To install Glide64:

Open archive and copy everything from the 'Plugin' folder into the folder where all your N64 plugins are stored (this is usually the 'Plugin' folder in your emulator's folder, e.g. Project64\Plugin).
If you donít have a Voodoo card, make sure you copy the glide3x.dll file from the 'Wrapper' folder into your emulator's folder."

Fixed, the problem was the Glide3x.dll must be put on the Project64 folder.

squall_leonhart 25th April 2013 10:54 AM

please hold onto this grenade, for 5 seconds after i pull the pin and run like hell.

the_randomizer 25th April 2013 02:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jorchking (Post 45882)
"To install Glide64:

Open archive and copy everything from the 'Plugin' folder into the folder where all your N64 plugins are stored (this is usually the 'Plugin' folder in your emulator's folder, e.g. Project64\Plugin).
If you don’t have a Voodoo card, make sure you copy the glide3x.dll file from the 'Wrapper' folder into your emulator's folder."

Fixed, the problem was the Glide3x.dll must be put on the Project64 folder.

I thought I mentioned that, but I guess not :rolleyes:

Quote:

Originally Posted by squall_leonhart (Post 45888)
please hold onto this grenade, for 5 seconds after i pull the pin and run like hell.

Only if it's the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch.

Tasoulis 25th April 2013 11:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nintendo1889 (Post 45896)
I thought I mentioned that, but I guess not :rolleyes:

I did... :P

et500 25th April 2013 11:42 PM

Apart from a small number of exceptions (PD sky for example), Jabo's 1.6.1 and 1.7 plugins are still much faster and a lot more compatible than Glide.

They also seem to provide a better image quality and sharpness in higher resolutions too. Advanced options are game specific in 1.7.0.57 ver 5 and will appear only when a game is running, so settings like full screen stretching need to be manually set once per game.

Hopefully Glide will improve, I currently only use it for a small number of games with highrez texture support. Today, Jabo's plugins are still a lot faster, much more stable and have less bugs in most cases.

Glide is a great plugin and has a lot of potential though.

the_randomizer 25th April 2013 11:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by et500 (Post 45916)
Apart from a small number of exceptions (PD sky for example), Jabo's 1.6.1 and 1.7 plugins are still much faster and a lot more compatible than Glide.

They also seem to provide a better image quality and sharpness in higher resolutions too. Advanced options are game specific in 1.7.0.57 ver 5 and will appear only when a game is running, so settings like full screen stretching need to be manually set once per game.

Hopefully Glide will improve, I currently only use it for a small number of games with highrez texture support. Today, Jabo's plugins are still a lot faster, much more stable and have less bugs in most cases.

Glide is a great plugin and ha a lot of potential though.

Glide also emulates the pixel alpha dithering effects (Mystical Ninja 64, Hybrid Heaven, Mario Kart 64, Super Mario 64 all use this dithering effect), Jabo's does not for some reason. Just saying, but yes, it does need some work on it. Too bad Jabo didn't make his open source.

Jorchking 26th April 2013 12:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by et500 (Post 45916)
Apart from a small number of exceptions (PD sky for example), Jabo's 1.6.1 and 1.7 plugins are still much faster and a lot more compatible than Glide.

They also seem to provide a better image quality and sharpness in higher resolutions too. Advanced options are game specific in 1.7.0.57 ver 5 and will appear only when a game is running, so settings like full screen stretching need to be manually set once per game.

Hopefully Glide will improve, I currently only use it for a small number of games with highrez texture support. Today, Jabo's plugins are still a lot faster, much more stable and have less bugs in most cases.

Glide is a great plugin and ha a lot of potential though.

Yes me too use Jabo, but sometimes I use Textures, and Jabo is not compatible with HD textures, only Rice or Glide64.

Glide64 also is a great plugin, but is very slow.

mesk14 26th April 2013 12:30 AM

You guys find glide slow? Not me,in fact the majority of games i play i use glide.

Jorchking 26th April 2013 12:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mesk14 (Post 45920)
You guys find glide slow? Not me,in fact the majority of games i play i use glide.

Try in Mario tennis with Glide64, the graphics are Ok, but the game run very slow, try.

the_randomizer 26th April 2013 12:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jorchking (Post 45921)
Try in Mario tennis with Glide64, the graphics are Ok, but the game run very slow, try.

Thank goodness no one said that Rice Video was the best most stable plugin out there. :D

Jorchking 26th April 2013 01:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nintendo1889 (Post 45922)
Thank goodness no one said that Rice Video was the best most stable plugin out there. :D

I can Say that plugins are better depend the game, the default and much better for me is Jabo, later Glide64 (but is slow in some games), later Rice video plugin, the last I use only for load textures same that Glide64.

But depends that which game you want play.

For example Majora's Mask have a lot of problems with the Rice Video Plugin.

the_randomizer 26th April 2013 01:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jorchking (Post 45923)
I can Say that plugins are better depend the game, the default and much better for me is Jabo, later Glide64 (but is slow in some games), later Rice video plugin, the last I use only for load textures same that Glide64.

But depends that which game you want play.

For example Majora's Mask have a lot of problems with the Rice Video Plugin.

And Glide 64 gets the motion smoothing/ day-night transition effects right. Just glad there is a per-ROM plugin setting now. Rice Video has major combiner issues with many games, incorrect HUD graphics (Mystical Ninja is a good example)

Tasoulis 26th April 2013 03:34 PM

From my testing (tested almost any N64 game out there) and according to the online guide by Bighead, Glide64 is the superior, more compatible plugin. Yes, its slower than Jabo but any PC that is less than 5 years old should run it with ease anyway (mine is a Pentium 4 and i still use it as default and only a few games have issues with speed).

et500 27th April 2013 07:15 PM

Even on a high end system with a Corei7 CPU and a modern GPU, Glide has serious performance issues, making games like GE, Blast Corps or PD nearly unplayable, especially in high display resolutions.

Using Jabo's plugins, these games run smooth like butter. Also in my opinion other games like Ogre Battle 64 where Glide is recommended on the list run also much better with Jabo's plugins. And the output image seems to be a lot sharper, mabe this is the first thing that needs to get fixed in Glide.

the_randomizer 27th April 2013 07:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by et500 (Post 45987)
Even on a high end system with a Corei7 CPU and a modern GPU, Glide has serious performance issues, making games like GE, Blast Corps or PD nearly unplayable, especially in high display resolutions.

Using Jabo's plugins, these games run smooth like butter. Also in my opinion other games like Ogre Battle 64 where Glide is recommended on the list run also much better with Jabo's plugins. And the output image seems to be a lot sharper, mabe this is the first thing that needs to get fixed in Glide.

That's what Zilmar is doing, he's fixing what's broken in Glide, integrating it with PJ64 2.1.x.x

et500 28th April 2013 12:41 AM

I know, reading EmuCR changelogs is part of my daily routine, one of the best sites on the Internet as long as you do not expect stable builds.

There also seems to be a bug in PD and GE with Glide and Counterfactor=1:

Outdoor levels, which run perfectly smooth with Jabo's plugins are unplayably slow with Glide. And in indoor levels, whenever the player faces into the direction where the level geometry is, even if it is behind walls, sound starts to crackle and frame rate goes down. When facing in any other direction, the game runs fine, this is especially weird at the beginning of PD level 1.

Counterfactor=2 fixes these problems but controls are jerky and unresponsive.

Blastcorps has the world map rendered more accurate in Glide, but suffers from enormous slowdowns, making Jabo the only plugin option again.

Same for Ogre Battle, Glide causes the audio to heavily crackle while Jabo runs perfectly fine.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.