#11  
Old 20th May 2011, 08:52 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Oh okay, well that's interesting. Just, presses Enter (or in my case the space bar), then instant crash. Kinda like one of those funny GameShark cheats. I guess it's definitely quickly writing some sort of unsupported code then when that happens.

Yeah thanks for looking into this...there are a lot of builds to do division between where you see the issue and not, so I realize it could take a while.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21st May 2011, 12:19 PM
ChrisHighwind ChrisHighwind is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Quick run through of my tests:

Current - 1.7.0.51: Crash
1.6: Crash
Direct3D6 1.5.2: No crash, but no graphics either
1964video r75: No crash, but eventual exception caught error

Conclusion: My graphics card must not agree with Jabo's plugin when it comes to Zelda. Have yet to try other games.

Last edited by ChrisHighwind; 21st May 2011 at 07:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st May 2011, 02:51 PM
Jabo's Avatar
Jabo Jabo is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Project64 Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisHighwind View Post
Quick run through of my tests:

Current - 1.7.0.51: Crash
1.6: Crash
Direct3D6 1.5.2: No crash, but no graphics either
1964video r75: No crash.

Conclusion: My graphics card must not agree with Jabo's plugin when it comes to Zelda. Have yet to try other games.
So basically none of the Direct3D8 plugins work for you, which makes sense it should be consistently not working... the strange thing is that I have the same graphics chipset as you and obviously it works for me. This may be a shot in the dark but before we really do anything too in depth have you tried updating your graphics drivers from windows update or intel.com?
__________________
Project64 Developer
HP Laptop, Intel P7540 with GMA4500, Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 23rd May 2011, 08:55 PM
ChrisHighwind ChrisHighwind is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Default

I just now updated my graphics drivers, and was met with the same error.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24th May 2011, 01:22 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Could it be possible that any of the bad code could have been generated by the application? Like if you use the 1.6 d3d8 plugin on Project64 1.6, is the result the same?

Apologies, don't mean to interrupt the line of procedure Jabo has to getting more information here, just curious for myself if it could help.

Last edited by RadeonUser; 24th May 2011 at 02:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 24th May 2011, 02:42 AM
ChrisHighwind ChrisHighwind is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
Could it be possible that any of the bad code could have been generated by the application? Like if you use the 1.6 d3d8 plugin on Project64 1.6, is the result the same?

Apologies, don't mean to interrupt the line of procedure Jabo has to getting more information here, just curious for myself if it could help.
Oddly, the crash doesn't happen on 1.6. I'll test 1.7.0.49 to see if that still works.

EDIT: Tested 1.7.0.49, exception caught upon bootup

Last edited by RadeonUser; 24th May 2011 at 03:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 24th May 2011, 02:47 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Oh...interesting. So I was right.

Jabo what if you test the same build as the 1.7.0.50 he was using?

Also, how is 1.7.0.47? Since that had a re-compiler stability design integrated into it that is currently absent. Not sure if that might be related here.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 24th May 2011, 02:52 AM
ChrisHighwind ChrisHighwind is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Exception caught there, too.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 24th May 2011, 01:17 PM
Jabo's Avatar
Jabo Jabo is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Project64 Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iconoclast View Post
Oh...interesting. So I was right.

Jabo what if you test the same build as the 1.7.0.50 he was using?

Also, how is 1.7.0.47? Since that had a re-compiler stability design integrated into it that is currently absent. Not sure if that might be related here.
Sorry I am meaning to post something valuable here just nothing to offer sadly, it's difficult to diagnose this type of problem, it's suppose to just work

Can someone summarize what works and what doesn't?
1.6 exe + 1.6 d3d8 works?
1.7 exe + 1.6 d3d8 does not?
1.7 exe + 1.5 d3d6 works but the submenu displays no graphics?
1.7 d3d8 does not work at all?

Need more complete information.
__________________
Project64 Developer
HP Laptop, Intel P7540 with GMA4500, Windows 7

Last edited by Jabo; 24th May 2011 at 03:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 24th May 2011, 05:13 PM
ChrisHighwind ChrisHighwind is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Default

1.6 exe + 1.6 d3d8 - Works fine
1.7.0.50 exe + any d3d8 - Crashes immediately after pressing start to go to the subscreens
1.7.0.47-49 exe + any d3d8 - Exception caught upon bootup
1.7.0.50 exe + 1.5 d3d6 - Audio, but no visual.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.