#11  
Old 29th December 2008, 01:22 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

hey mr 3 posts, relax
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27th January 2009, 07:50 PM
forsaken846 forsaken846 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default

there was mention of injecting roms into vc games, could i inject MQ into the standard OoT and get decent results? Im not very up to date right now so forgive me if it is a stupid question.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 4th February 2009, 08:36 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

Its not viable, MQ requires memory hacks to pass certain points iirc.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15th November 2009, 04:22 AM
Luigi_fan_12 Luigi_fan_12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Thumbs down

1.vc is too exspencive. i can get 3 n64 games from a pawn shop for 10$. what makes the wii soo special that i have to pay 6$ more for a damn game?
2.there is a newer version of wii64. its compatable with WAY more games with most of them runing at full speed. (Making the wii strong enought to handle it.)

Sadly it still cant run DK64(at all)

I think it would be a big think for PJ64 to make the first (almost)perfect N64 Emulator for the wii
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15th November 2009, 04:47 PM
wildgoosespeeder's Avatar
wildgoosespeeder wildgoosespeeder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 156
Default

Wow, thread revival! I created a newer thread here.
__________________
PLEASE PM ME WITH YOUR MESSENGER SCREEN NAME BEFORE ADDING ME TO YOUR BUDDY LIST OR ELSE I IGNORE THE BUDDY LIST REQUEST!

Mozilla FireFox and The Angry Video Game Nerd aren't gods.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 24th December 2009, 07:25 AM
RchUncleSkeleton RchUncleSkeleton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Default

1st off project64 cannot and will not be ported to wii as it is coded for use on x86 based processors, the wii uses a POWERPC processor, the same kind used in pre-intel macs...there is no port of pj64 for those macs, there will be none for the wii....wii64 is the closest you'll get to an n64 emu on the wii

2nd there is a point of having snes,nes,genesis and other emu's....injecting roms into vc game and loading them takes up the wii system memory and it's usually more than the rom is...using emulators you can run them from an sd card or usb drive without taking up and blocks on the wii, therefore more games and you retain all you system memory.

only certain roms can be injected into certain wads....I think there is a total of 7 or 8 N64 games that have been successfully injected....hopefully the compatibilty can be raised in the near future but your best bet for playing n64 games is either owning the actual thing or playing the roms on pj64
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27th April 2010, 12:46 AM
Smoker1 Smoker1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luigi_fan_12 View Post
1.vc is too exspencive. i can get 3 n64 games from a pawn shop for 10$. what makes the wii soo special that i have to pay 6$ more for a damn game?
2.there is a newer version of wii64. its compatable with WAY more games with most of them runing at full speed. (Making the wii strong enought to handle it.)

Sadly it still cant run DK64(at all)

I think it would be a big think for PJ64 to make the first (almost)perfect N64 Emulator for the wii
Did not see any latest replies but:
Wii64 can actually play DK64. Have to go to options and turn on skip story intros. However the camera keeps having issues with jerking and the audio is jerky as well. What is really odd is that MKT, and MK4 wont work. MKT is a 2D game not 3D which would suggest it would run smoother. I agree that a PJ64 would be great on the Wii or even working with the developers of Wii64 but if there is not to be a PJ64 for Wii then I guess we all have to wait till they fix the bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 5th July 2010, 06:02 AM
etrnldrk etrnldrk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by RchUncleSkeleton View Post
1st off project64 cannot and will not be ported to wii as it is coded for use on x86 based processors, the wii uses a POWERPC processor, the same kind used in pre-intel macs...there is no port of pj64 for those macs, there will be none for the wii....wii64 is the closest you'll get to an n64 emu on the wii...

.... but your best bet for playing n64 games is either owning the actual thing or playing the roms on pj64
Just wanted to add, if the devs would release the damn source code for 1.6 already (since 1.7 code is/has been rewritten), then it wouldn't be such a problem for people to port this over to other systems without interference to the main project focus, which is and possibly will forever be, N64 emulation in Windows/x86. Not only that, it would give us a chance to test out features we would like to have without having to wait for a release (just state in the license that the name has to be modified so end-users won't confuse your modified build with the main build and credit has to be given back to the original devs/project and the modified source released) that may or may not have said features. Netplay multi-player and multi system portability (wifi multiplayer on PSP anyone?) would be epic and wouldn't be skin off the original devs backs, not to mention, a lot of hard work could be pawned off to the open source community and specific patches could be folded back into the original source tree. Tell me that's not a win-win
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 5th July 2010, 09:37 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

yeah, it would be a problem AS THE EMULATOR IS x86!

jesus, go nag the fuckwits at mupen.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12th July 2010, 06:40 AM
etrnldrk etrnldrk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
yeah, it would be a problem AS THE EMULATOR IS x86!

jesus, go nag the fuckwits at mupen.
That wouldn't fucking matter, mate. If the source was readily available, you CAN build it for other architectures (given that it may take a bit of time to translate all the specific calls, etc to that new platform), not just x86, fuckwit. And it's not really even x86, it's specifically built for Windows OSs utilizing x86 processors. Stating that it is x86 (in general) would constitute the open belief that it would support all OSs running on x86 platforms (i.e. Linux, BSD, BeOS, OSX, etc), which it doesn't. However, it does run in WINE (google it) decently.

I only responded to this thread specifically due to the title, porting this software to the Wii, not to get into an argument nor flamewar, so chill the fuck out, man.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.