#1  
Old 13th December 2009, 03:27 AM
Iconic Iconic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default About my FPS and "VI/S"

Hey, I just got pj1.7 but I have little experience with the 1.6 emulator. Anyway, I never took the time to find out how to reduce my latency as much as possible. I know there are TONS of options to change things many of which make me feel noob because I have no idea what they are. Please specify the most optimal for me ^^. Also whats "normal" Vi/s and the Audio in game seems really crackley for me.

(I can provide computer specs if you ask)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th December 2009, 03:33 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

VI/s is the emulated rate of speed, in vertical interrupts per second.
A vertical interrupt is the row-by-row refresh of pixels drawn on the emulated screen.

Project64 was designed by the belief of the common user population not wanting to tweak settings, so it is set with secure defaults. There aren't really any specific settings you should change based on the exact design of your system specs as far as I am aware; the importance of these settings is relevant to the target N64 system that's being emulated. They're usually only relevant to your system as to what you set them to if you have slow speeds or low- or high- end hardware.

It is, though, important to change the settings yourself when you experience any issues, like glitches in games. If you see performance is doing great, your system apparently can handle the default design in Project64. Most of the basic settings don't really affect emulation anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th December 2009, 03:42 AM
Iconic Iconic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Yeah I figured that but I wasn't sure if there was anything special I could do. I don't really experience lag issues I think that I think I do when I hear the music cracking up. I'll mess around with the settings. Thanks for the help


EDIT: The "buffer size" when turned down makes it worse. It can't go up though :X

Last edited by Iconic; 13th December 2009 at 03:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th December 2009, 03:45 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

I forgot, for the music crackling, you can either install a different audio plug-in that handles non-sync sound better, or just set up the current one.

Try first Options/Configure Controller Plugin..., and use the "Sync Game to Audio" option.
That applies when using Jabo's DirectSound for the sound plug-in though not zilmar's audio or the core configuration for the buffer size.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.