#1  
Old 4th April 2013, 11:10 AM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 988
Default Glide64

Since Jabo is not around and only he has the souce to his plugin. With glide64 also not being worked on ...

I was tempted to see how hard it would be to make a single plugin with open gl (well merging the plugin with the current glide wrapper) to make a single dll.

I am not a gfx person so not sure .. how it would go .. that way I can have the gfx plugin that is open source the same as the main emulator and get help to fix any graphics issue.

What do you think?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th April 2013, 11:26 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

It would be far better to use glide64 as a reference and make a completely new plugin in either d3d or opengl.

Glide64 is certainly lacking in its own ways, some of them being inheritted limitations of the Voodoo5 hardware that the glide64 wrapper implements (limited to no computed alpha is available for games that use it), to some of the games having viewport/resolution issues.

I wouldn't be too surprised if Jabo sometime in the future releases a D3D9 version of his plugin......
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th April 2013, 11:37 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Well I was interested in the z64gl source code and using LLE as a base for HLE.

Then z64gl can have a DllConfig to select -1 = lle, 0 = RSP SW Mario64, 1 = F3DEX, etc. w/e
Maybe use the registry, INI, but definitely keep ogl

There is a lot more work in Glide64 so it could help add fx, but LLE is what's lacked.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th April 2013, 11:43 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Many people seem to draw false conclusions revolving around Glide64.

It is very hard work, but not accurate necessarily.
Of course there will be some bias in that Glide64 activists requested my ban on various forums. :P

I got z64gl to compile btw but I stopped working on it because there is some issue with my glew32 libs causing occassional crashes, unplayability, I put it off in favor of rsp
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th April 2013, 12:05 PM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
It would be far better to use glide64 as a reference and make a completely new plugin in either d3d or opengl.
While this might be true .. getting a version of glide64 compiling then merging and tweaking is more feasible time wise. If I started from scratch I doubt I would ever get it far enough to really keep my attention.

Which is the only reason I would go down this path

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
I wouldn't be too surprised if Jabo sometime in the future releases a D3D9 version of his plugin......
Hope so .. but you never know
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th April 2013, 12:34 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,103
Default

Mudlord has always talk about porting glide, idk if he has actaully done something tho
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th April 2013, 03:20 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

you must not have noticed his various n64video posts in these forums recently......
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th April 2013, 03:24 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zilmar View Post
While this might be true .. getting a version of glide64 compiling then merging and tweaking is more feasible time wise. If I started from scratch I doubt I would ever get it far enough to really keep my attention.

Which is the only reason I would go down this path

Ah, but you're forgetting something Zilmar.

You're no longer alone .

There are various people working on different n64 video plugins at the moment, maybe bringing them together and putting together a best from them all project ;D.

Deathdroid has his community rice video plugin, that could probably benefit from what glide64 gets right (it has so far texture pack wise, pack caching files for one). But in terms of (Hardware) Framebuffer emulation, Glide64 trumps Rice Video in all its forms.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th April 2013, 05:03 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
you must not have noticed his various n64video posts in these forums recently......
Yes I have, which is why I assume that he isn't working on it
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th April 2013, 10:19 PM
mudlord_ mudlord_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 381
Default

Quote:
I was tempted to see how hard it would be to make a single plugin with open gl (well merging the plugin with the current glide wrapper) to make a single dll.
Old Linux ports of Glide64 used this method, so yeah, completely feasible.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.