#1  
Old 21st September 2013, 03:30 PM
7vincent7black7 7vincent7black7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Default Mem Pak Kryptonite

Seriously I'm having this issue with Project64 1.6 and 2.1. No matter what I do, I cannot disable Read-Only for my Project64 directory, and by association I should think, my emulator CANNOT create a mem pak file for Roms. It ahs that annoying message "The System Cannot Find the Path Specified." No idea what to do, I've spent hours trying to get this to work, do I just save the state itself then?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st September 2013, 08:56 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,102
Default

Try running as admin
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st September 2013, 09:04 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Try running as this guy.


You can also check Directory settings for where things are written in the Project64 Directory tab of the options config, in case you'd rather target to a writeable flash drive or something where you have full access permissions.

But it should work if you're logged in to an admin account on Windows or whatever.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd September 2013, 02:04 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BatCat View Post
But it should work if you're logged in to an admin account on Windows or whatever.
Nope, you have to specifically tell it to run as admin
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd September 2013, 02:18 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

No I don't.
How do you know how my OS is set as? :P


tl;dr , use a better OS
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd September 2013, 09:49 AM
7vincent7black7 7vincent7black7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Sorry for not Responding, I had five Survey of US History Textbook chapters to read over the weekend. I'm on chapter four and I have until tomorrow. When I've not been reading, I've been doing quick breaks on videogames outside the emulator, I'll try using a desktop icon and see what happens.

Well that sucks, I right-clicked and ran as administrator. Still could not find file specified, at one point it used to ask me if it could create one but even that had failed so idk.

Okay, N-Rage Plugin keeps trying to create a mempak in Project 64 1.6 Mempaks Directory, but I'm using the 2.1 version now...lemme check the N-Rage settings:

I changed it to the 2.1 folder structure successfully and open up the Donkey Kong 64 rom as the test.

"Couldnt create/open MemPakfile

ErrorDescription: The system cannot find the path specified."

I just created my own files on my flashdrive and redirected both the P64 adn the N-Rage directories for the Save to that, and it still gets the above message. I might have to save completely off save states.

Last edited by 7vincent7black7; 23rd September 2013 at 10:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd September 2013, 04:26 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

I think the Mempaks directory changer only works when the controller DLL is allowing non-raw data.

By default, N-Rage doesn't. So just concentrate only on the directory you have N-Rage set to create the file in; try resetting that directory to write-able media like a flash drive or something temporarily to test it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th September 2013, 12:57 PM
7vincent7black7 7vincent7black7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Default Sorry it took so long to respond...

I've managed to get the Mem Pak working from my flash drive directory for Banjo-Tooie, and its working great there. Eventually I'll completely move the whole emulator over to the flashdrive in a way to where the plugins don't fail, then I can play the games from anywhere, sometimes I get bored in the morning or between classes in College. But yeah thanks for the help. I"m glad to be reliving my childhood in the world of Banjo Kazooie and Banjo Tooie.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.