Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th October 2014, 09:38 PM
kyledoggy kyledoggy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Default Project 64 + HDMI audio = bad

Okay,

I have been fussing with Project 64 2.0.0.14 and it's issues with producing no audio when I use HDMI audio to my TV. Basically what happens is when I plug in the HDMI cable and run the video+audio through it, my games become very slow and I get no audio. Now, if I hook up an 3.5mm audio jack from my PC to my TV, everything works perfectly fine.

I am able to run the HDMI audio in all of my other emulators except for Project 64. I have tried a bunch of different settings, different audio plugins, and nothing seems to work. Has anyone had this problem and can anyone shed any light on what is going on here?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th October 2014, 08:09 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,953
Default

What audio plugin are you using?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th October 2014, 08:26 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

i am using shunyuan's HDMI audio plugin for project64
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd October 2014, 01:44 PM
Wally123's Avatar
Wally123 Wally123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Freedonia
Posts: 159
Default

There are several ways to get surround sound working.

Using Jabo's Direct Sound:
Assuming you are running Windows 7 or Windows Vista, make sure that you turn on '"Virtual Surround" in the Playback Devices audio settings for the device that is using HDMI to connect to a stereo receiver, and then set your stereo receiver to NeoDTS6 or Dolby Prologic II.


Using Shunyuan's HLE Audio:
Take the steps above and then configure PJ64 to use HLE Audio with one of the two packed in RSP plugins...If you get an error on one, use the other. Then, in the audio configuration settings for Shunyuan's HLE Audio...check "Direct Sound hardware acceleration", "stereo", "XAudio2 Upmix", and the Audio Driver to "XAudio2"...and set the sound quality to what you may prefer. The N64 could natively do DVD quality sound so it would be safe to set the sample rate to 24Bit at 48KHz. Also be sure to check "Use High Level Audio" in the Plugin Selection screen.

Keep in mind that I am using an integrated audio chip-set and an RCA Digital Coaxial cable to hook my computer up to my stereo receiver.
__________________
"I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book."

~Groucho Marx
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd October 2014, 05:54 AM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally123 View Post
Also be sure to check "Use High Level Audio" in the Plugin Selection screen.
Why??????????????????????????????????????????????? ???????????????
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd October 2014, 01:00 PM
kyledoggy kyledoggy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeDude2 View Post
What audio plugin are you using?
I've tried all the native plugins that came with the Project 64 program.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd October 2014, 01:02 PM
kyledoggy kyledoggy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for all the suggestions guys. I'll download Shunyuan's HLE audio plugin and let you guys know the results.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th October 2014, 08:26 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally123 View Post
The N64 could natively do DVD quality sound so it would be safe to set the sample rate to 24Bit at 48KHz.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th October 2014, 11:11 PM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally123 View Post
The N64 could natively do DVD quality sound so it would be safe to set the sample rate to 24Bit at 48KHz.


No, the N64 could barely do 64 kbps audio at 44.1 KHz, much less DVD quality
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th October 2014, 12:11 AM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally123 View Post
The N64 could natively do DVD quality sound so it would be safe to set the sample rate to 24Bit at 48KHz.
LOL 10/10 post. How did i miss this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.