Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th June 2016, 04:00 AM
iohanntachy iohanntachy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Default How to get the most authentic video from Project64?

First of all, sorry the bad grammar... Not native speaker.

I'm using 2.2.0.3, have installed angrylion's RDP, Glide64, GLideN64, z64 and z64gl.

Can someone kindly help me to get the video configuration that makes the emulator looks the most possible as a real Nintendo 64?

I really don't quite know what should really look... I used GlideN64 with the original internal resolution and original N64 3point filter, is there anything else to make look more like the real thing?

Thank you ALL!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th June 2016, 06:40 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

Angrylion RDP but if you like scanlines I posted a hack I was working on somewhere on the forums.
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th June 2016, 06:41 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

More than one correct "real N64" graphical result exists.

If you're using angrylion's RDP, read this:
http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=4554
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th June 2016, 06:52 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HatCat View Post
More than one correct "real N64" graphical result exists.

If you're using angrylion's RDP, read this:
http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=4554
Did you update your OpenGL version?
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th June 2016, 05:16 PM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't using Angrylion's RDP incredibly taxing on most users' CPUs to the point of not being able to achieve full speed?
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th June 2016, 06:07 PM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,008
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_randomizer View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't using Angrylion's RDP incredibly taxing on most users' CPUs to the point of not being able to achieve full speed?
If you can't run most games full speed, it's time to upgrade your computer .

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th June 2016, 06:18 PM
iohanntachy iohanntachy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Thumbs up

Thank you all!

I will try Angrylion's, I'll post the results...

Oh, one more thing. Latest PJ64 build from EmuCR is quite unstable...

EmuCR fault?

Last edited by iohanntachy; 27th June 2016 at 06:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th June 2016, 08:17 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iohanntachy View Post
Latest PJ64 build from EmuCR is quite unstable...

EmuCR fault?
Maybe, but if you're running Windows 10 it might just be the code.

You should try sending a private message on the forum to zilmar if you're worried about it; he can just give you read access to his own buildbot releases.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th June 2016, 02:36 AM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPGMaster View Post
If you can't run most games full speed, it's time to upgrade your computer .

I confess I've been out of the loop for a very long time, I don't use 1964, but PJ64, I don't even know where the latest links to the latest Angrylion RDP is, so, I don't know. That wasn't a very wise thing for me to assume >.< Again, no idea what's what anymore, I haven't followed the scene for a long time, not that people would help me find links or anything, given how much I'm hated. *shrug*

I thought 1964 was abandoned?
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th June 2016, 06:09 PM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,008
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_randomizer View Post
I confess I've been out of the loop for a very long time, I don't use 1964, but PJ64, I don't even know where the latest links to the latest Angrylion RDP is, so, I don't know. That wasn't a very wise thing for me to assume >.< Again, no idea what's what anymore, I haven't followed the scene for a long time, not that people would help me find links or anything, given how much I'm hated. *shrug*

I thought 1964 was abandoned?
Lol I was just parodying a meme .. My cpu isn't even that great, only 2.667 ghz. What I screencapped was a WIP and unreleased plugin. Currently angrylion's does have high system requirements (but still not as high as people make it out to be).

The notion that you need good / new hardware to run N64 emulation well, is incorrect. Some misinformed individuals have told me that I have a toaster and need to upgrade in order to run N64 emulation well enough. Yet here I am running a decent amount of games above 60 VI/s on my "toaster" .

I've complained about the poor performance of Glide64 for good reasons. Try playing Bangaioh and you'll see that the performance is pitiful, considering it's a 2d game... Here's me playing it with PJ64's Glide

I get better performance with Shunyuan's SoftGraphic plugin (70's)..

Why would it matter if 1964 was abandonned? It still works well for many games and it's still my favorite N64 emu.

You mind trying that game with Glide64 and tell me how many VI/s you get in that particular part of the game? I know that with Glide64 Final, I get around 75 VI/s which is still bad considering it's a simple 2d game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.