Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st May 2009, 12:36 AM
ZathainSicarius ZathainSicarius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Exclamation Control Config based on loaded ROM?

I'm making an attempt to get n64 games running on this little arcade PC of mine, and having a lot of fun adapting different sorts of games to a Street Fighter style set-up.(8-way joystick, 6 pushbuttons)

I started with Pokemon Stadium, mapping the d-pad and c-buttons to the joystick for simplicity's sake, but having the camera angle change every time you turn in F-Zero isn't as dramatic as it is confusing. Then of course there are issues with some games handling a lot better with the analog joystick completely ignored, while others shrug off the d-pad as completely useless. So I come to you now for suggestions on how to solve this problem.

I'm unaware of any options that will load specific control configurations depending on what ROM is loaded (ZSNES has something like that if you're not sure what I mean), nor can I find any sort of console command to load profiles on launch. The default input plugin was unable to handle multiple buttons mapped to the same input, though the other one (n-something) still doesn't exactly solve my problem.

So, in short, is there any way to have different control configurations set for different ROMs, or a way to load control profiles through startup commands, or any 3rd-party plugins that would help me do something similar to that?

Any help or suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

Project64 is still sweet though, don't get me wrong. (Sounds kinda like a rant, doesn't it? :/)
  #2  
Old 21st May 2009, 02:26 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,245
Default

You could probably Google for OrkinMan's Input Plugin, but I could never get it to function. This plug-in for many has saved game configurations to INI configuration text to remember on next game load.

It also depends what plug-in you're currently using, but in the configuration, is there a Save Profile button?
  #3  
Old 22nd May 2009, 07:32 PM
ZathainSicarius ZathainSicarius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Currently I'm using N-Rage's Direct-Input8 V2 1.80a. It's got some save/load profile buttons, but I'm not sure if those profiles apply to everything or just the tab you currently have selected. Jabo's default one also has some save/load stuff, but It won't let me map the c-buttons and d-pad to the same controls.

I'll try to find OrkinMan's thing and experiment a bit.
  #4  
Old 23rd May 2009, 03:56 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,245
Default

There is a mirror here.
http://www.emutalk.net/showthread.php?t=11796

The profiles are not saved per-game. They simply are a quick way of restoring the entire controller emulation settings rather than re-setting everything manually each time you change a game.
  #5  
Old 23rd May 2009, 05:21 PM
ZathainSicarius ZathainSicarius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Looks like it's throwing me into other troubles though... All 4 players of my set up are mapped to different sections of the keyboard, and it looks like Orkin requires each player to have his own device, which means only 1 player can have the keyboard, while the others use various joysticks and controllers.

Crashing every time I start up a game and whenever I try to edit the control configuration is pretty counter productive too... XD

I couldn't find any obvious way to load controller profiles through the .ini file either, looks like they just had some default controls schemes for more common controllers.
  #6  
Old 24th May 2009, 03:09 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,245
Default

"The profiles are not saved per-game. They simply are a quick way of restoring the entire controller emulation settings rather than re-setting everything manually each time you change a game."
This applies to the default plug-ins. If you use those (e.g. N-Rage's) you can still save and load controller settings rather than individually re-setting them the next time.
The INI file for Orkin's plug-in contains text used to automatically set instructions based on the game you loaded under your definition, but for us no game initializes.
  #7  
Old 24th May 2009, 05:24 PM
ZathainSicarius ZathainSicarius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Is there any way to load those controller profiles without going into the config UI and hitting the load button? Like a startup command or anything? The whole point of my setup is to hide everything but the games.
  #8  
Old 24th May 2009, 08:26 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,245
Default

Feel free to ask that over at EmuTalk. I understand your situation, but they might not.
http://www.emutalk.net/index.php
 

Tags
controls, input, plugin, profiles

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.