Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 3rd January 2015, 11:09 AM
Xcodeplus Xcodeplus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally123 View Post
Yes it does. You install nGlide to its default install location..to the Windows system folders....not the pj64 folder....Then configure the settings of nGlide to use DESKTOP resolution or By App...and leave the PJ64 3dfx files alone...Vertical Sync works perfectly with it. You have to use the Glide64 plugin settings in Project64 for other options...
[NECRO]You are aware nGlide does nothing with Glide64 for PJ64, right?[/NECRO]
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21st January 2015, 03:56 AM
perfectswanson perfectswanson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Omaha
Posts: 2
Default Error

Thank you, Wally for the information, very informative. lol I did read the tooltips. I'm saavy, and I followed your instructions. I'm still getting that Line: 258 error. I've been struggling with loading any texture packs for a few days now. I'm running WinXP. Before anyone says anything. I doubt it has to do with the amount of RAM anyone has, because I've noticed many people with higher end machines are getting the same error. Yes, I have tried PJ64 v1.6.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st January 2015, 05:56 AM
V1del V1del is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 442
Default

@perfectwatson your graphics drivers/card are too bad or your RAM is too low, unless you actually tell your speccs we can't tell you if it's enough and or not , this error is the general exception error if something happens that PJ64 has no idea about what exactly went wrong, but didn't just outright crash.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 7th February 2015, 02:48 PM
Wally123's Avatar
Wally123 Wally123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Freedonia
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcodeplus View Post
[NECRO]You are aware nGlide does nothing with Glide64 for PJ64, right?[/NECRO]

nGlide is a universal 3DFX API installer for Windows...It installs like a Direct X Redistributable Package...and adds 3DFx acceleration to all programs that used VooDoo, Glide, Banshee and other 3DFx API calls...The built in PJ64 version of Glide64 requires the Glide3 API to make it more stable, otherwise you will crash PJ64 going to and from full screen mode while using it.
__________________
"I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book."

~Groucho Marx
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 16th February 2015, 03:58 PM
DaMan69 DaMan69 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 77
Default

The glide wrapper is statically linked to PJ64Glide64.dll i.e. it doesn't use any glide3x.dll/external glide wrappers..
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 18th February 2015, 03:23 PM
Wally123's Avatar
Wally123 Wally123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Freedonia
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaMan69 View Post
The glide wrapper is statically linked to PJ64Glide64.dll i.e. it doesn't use any glide3x.dll/external glide wrappers..
IF one wants to play in 4k resolution....or any resolution greater than 2048x2048, nGlide is absolutely necessary.
__________________
"I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book."

~Groucho Marx
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 31st January 2017, 11:13 PM
Mario_Network Mario_Network is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Question No texture path.

Sorry to post on a 4-Year-Old tread, but take a look at this.
No Texture Path.png
As you can see, there is not an option for a "Texture Directory".
What do I do?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 1st April 2019, 02:53 AM
Nick28 Nick28 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
Talking Thank you!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally123 View Post
For Windows users:

1. Use the Glide64 plugin that comes with PJ64 2.1.

3. Create a folder named "hires_texture" without quotes (and with the underscore) in the following directory "C:\Program Files\Project64 2.1\Plugin\GFX\" (or wherever the heck you installed PJ64 on your hard disk).

3a) If the compressed version of the texture pack has a folder in it named "ZELDA MAJORA'S MASK", extract it directly into the "hires_texture" folder. If it doesn't...create one in the "hires_texture" folder and simply extract the textures into it.

3b) In the same "hires_texture" folder, create another folder named "cache".


4. In the Project 64 game launcher...press Ctrl+T on your keyboard to bring up the settings....and uncheck the box next to "Hide Advanced Settings" and in the Plugins settings...use "Glide64 for PJ64 2.0.0.1" as the default video plugin. In the Directories settings...set the "Textures Directory" box to the folder you created in Step 3 and click on the bottom radial button... Of course click OK.


5. Configure the graphics plugin to the following:

5a) In the Basic Settings tab in the "Rendering" box...set your resolutions.

5b) In the OpnenGL box set the VRAM size to how much VRAM your computer has available. Check the box "Use Frame Buffer Objects". Turn on VSYNC and Anisotropic Filtering.

5c) In the "Other" box, set your screenshots to PNG and check the only box in there "Show texture enhancement options"....click OK.


6. Configure the Graphics Plugin again and head over to the "Texture Enhancement Options" tab and use the following settings.

6a) You might not need to use texture filters...but they smooth out text in some cases..those are optional...Set the Texture Cache to 300MB (or no greater than your available video memory) and check "Compress Texture Cache".

6b) In the "Hi-resolution textures" box set Format to "Rice format", check Alternative CRC Calculations, Use Alpha Channels Fully, and Compress Texture Cache boxes...and check "Save texture cache to hard disk".


7. Click "OK" and run the game....It will take a bit of time to load the textures on the first run, but when they are working right...it is amazing.


I hope that helped.
Hey man, I am a complete newbie when it comes to emulators so I want to reach out and say thank you for guiding us through that! I'm currently using 2.3 and everything you said worked just fine! I made an account just to say this so I hope you see that you helped someone out there!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10th August 2019, 11:20 PM
TheHard TheHard is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick28 View Post
Hey man, I am a complete newbie when it comes to emulators so I want to reach out and say thank you for guiding us through that! I'm currently using 2.3 and everything you said worked just fine! I made an account just to say this so I hope you see that you helped someone out there!
Hi there! I followed the same instructions, but it doesn't seems to work for me... should I make sure that I have the correct files in the texture directory? I'm trying with Mollymutt's SuperMario 64 textures...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 20th August 2019, 04:18 AM
remont-plavnogo-puska remont-plavnogo-puska is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Default How to install texture pack

Sorry if this is a duplicate its impossible to search for "how do you say thanks to a post".

I see this all the time throughout the forum, but I do not see the "Say Thanks" button or whatever it would be called. Is there a time delay from creating an account before these options are available or am I just blind?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hd texture pack

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.