Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Suggestions

Old 26th November 2013, 03:02 PM

Default Better integration of 1964 UltraFast overclock in Project64

Hi, I'm new to Project64 and so first of all I want to say thank you for the great work, it's a really good emulator.

I have to admit though that 1964 Ultrafast is still better when it comes to framerate and I think that it was the biggest problem with the N64 games.

Now that Ultrafast V3 is open source and that someone listed the difference between the two emulators (at least when it comes to GE and PD) at the reply 221 in the post "1964 UltraFast" of the forum of "Retrocopy" (sorry i'm not allowed to add external links due to the fact I'm new here), I think it would be the best improvement you can make to your project.

Cheers,
Nocta
Old 27th December 2013, 08:13 PM

I can only support that request since framerate is the only issue in N64 emulation that is still left. 1964 ultrafast was great, but,struggled big time when it came to plugin compatibility. So there was no plugin for goldeneye to play it it multiplayer. Always had major graphic bugs in all the plugins. Unplayable therefore in multiplayer.

PJ64 has the great compatibility tha 1964 ultrafast lacked, but the overclocking option would make me (and many others) want to pay money for PJ64 again.
If nearly 60fps would be possible with original game speed, that wpuld make pj64 the one and only emulator. Please copy that feature from 1964 ultrafast.
Old 2nd January 2014, 09:09 PM

Although i agree i don't think it will be done, Just because to my knowledge there is only 3 or 4 games that even have a use for this.

OoT and MM for example just run at twice the speed instead of becoming smoother like Golden Eye..

Now if someone with much more knowledge of n64 assembly wanted to find codes that can increase the framerate (like some games on PS2 or PSP) then i'd be first in line to help donate to get this feature implemented haha.