#1  
Old 12th March 2012, 03:25 AM
64fun 64fun is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default Open Source

Just throwing this out there...from what I see the progress on the development of Project64 is very, very slow. I was wondering why the developers don't open source Project64?

If they made Project64 open source it would allow coders interested in the project to grab the source and tinker with it which would produce the end result of further contributions to Project64.

Just curious..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th March 2012, 03:56 AM
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere near you.
Posts: 5,075
Default

This has been asked a lot >.>
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th March 2012, 12:11 PM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default



Last edited by dsx_; 6th October 2013 at 04:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th March 2012, 12:51 PM
64fun 64fun is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default

I don't understand why this isn't open source under the GNU licence.

EDuke32 is a source port for Duke Nukem 3D that was written from scratch by the developers of the port and they wrote a brand new renderer from scratch to make the game look better (it adds a variety of nice lighting effects, support for various new things such as spec maps, glow maps, true room over room, etc..) and EDuke32 is open source under the GNU licence so I don't understand why Project64 isn't.

I used the above as an example of a project thats open source as I believe the reason project64 isn't open source is out of fear of someone attempting to steal the work of the Project64 developers (which will most likely not happen)

I'm not a coder myself but I do know that if a project such as Project64 were to be made open source it would enourage people interested in Project64 and Nintendo 64 emulation in general to look into the project and may even make additions to the code.

I don't want anyone here to chew me out, making Project64 open source was simply an idea that came to mind as I believe it'd encourage coders to check out the project and maybe make contributions.

In a perfect world the teams working on the Nintendo 64 emulators would all unite and merge their efforts into making one amazing emulator. In a dream world that is...I've always used Project64 as it's the most reliable and stable emulator but I've been saddened to see that very little progress has been made in terms of development recently and I really don't want it to die.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th March 2012, 10:45 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

Quote:
I'm not a coder myself but I do know that if a project such as Project64 were to be made open source it would enourage people interested in Project64 and Nintendo 64 emulation in general to look into the project and may even make additions to the code.
It didn't and it wouldn't.
They already tried with 1.4. nobody gave a shit.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th March 2012, 11:30 PM
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere near you.
Posts: 5,075
Default

Well, kaillera gave some >.>

but that's not a good argument :L
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th March 2012, 12:14 AM
64fun 64fun is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
It didn't and it wouldn't.
They already tried with 1.4. nobody gave a shit.
Why is everyone on this forum so fucking cynical.

They probably didn't care because all you did was dump the source out there rather then setting up a proper SVN that coders could commit to/grab the latest revision from.

Setting up a proper SVN and making it open source would make it easier for coders interested in the project to grab the latest revision and check it out and if interested make some contributions.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th March 2012, 11:01 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

there wasn't even such a thing as SVN when 1.4 was released, people were still using that archaic CVS crap.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th March 2012, 06:14 AM
Nemmay Nemmay is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
there wasn't even such a thing as SVN when 1.4 was released, people were still using that archaic CVS crap.
Well, since times have obviously changed, what would it hurt to release the source through an SVN to encourage more developers to come out of the wood-works to work on the emulator?

I've lately became pretty versed with the N64, and MIPS R4300i, it's really neat and quite similar to some of the stuff I was doing with powerpc on the Xbox 360.

What do you all have to lose?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th March 2012, 08:41 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

Quote:
What do you all have to lose?
the quality of the code.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.