#1  
Old 6th August 2010, 03:32 AM
AerosolSP AerosolSP is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default 64-bit support

Would pj64 benefit at all from having 64-bit support? Please note, I'm not asking for this as a feature, I just want to know if pj64 would benefit at all from it. I'm building a new pc and want to get it as cheap as possible by putting the power in the right places.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th August 2010, 04:32 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

It doesn't benefit from x64 instruction sets, but improved capabilities of x64 processors elsewhere do provide performance improvements.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th August 2010, 06:15 AM
AerosolSP AerosolSP is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I'm just curious, why is that? Is the N64's main processor not actually 64 bit?

Thanks for your reply, Squall
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th August 2010, 07:53 AM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

the first 64-bit processors are fast enough to run pj64 anyway
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th August 2010, 10:13 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

Central processing unit

The Nintendo 64's central processing unit (CPU) is the NEC VR4300,[20] a cost-reduced derivative of the 64-bit MIPS Technologies R4300i. Built by NEC on a 0.35 Ám process, the VR4300 is a RISC 5-stage scalar in-order execution processor, with integrated floating point unit, internal 24 KB direct-mapped[21] L1 cache (16KB for instructions, 8KB for data.) The 4.6 million transistors CPU is cooled passively by an aluminum heatspreader that makes contact with a steel heat sink above.[22]
Clocked at 93.75 MHz, the N64's VR4300 was the most powerful of the competing consoles of its generation.[23] Except for its narrower 32-bit system bus, the VR4300 retained the computational abilities of the more powerful 64-bit MIPS R4300i,[20] though software rarely took advantage of 64-bit data precision operations. N64 game-titles generally used faster (and more compact) 32-bit data-operations,[24] as these were sufficient to generate 3D-scene data for the console's RSP (Reality Signal Processor; see below) unit. Though powerful, the CPU was hindered by a 250MB/s bus to the system memory; not only that, but in order to access the RAM, the CPU had to go through the RCP (Reality Co-Processor), and could not use DMA to do so (The RCP could). This problem is further compounded by the RDRAM's very high access latency.
Emulators
such as UltraHLE and Project64 benefit from the scarcity of 64-bit operations in the game's executable-code, as the emulator is generally hosted on a 32-bit machine architecture. These emulators performed most calculations at 32-bit precision, and trapped the few OS subroutines that actually made use of 64-bit instructions.[24]
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th August 2010, 10:10 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Somewhere else summarized that it's actually two 32-bit processors, rather than strictly one 64-bit processor.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th August 2010, 11:05 PM
RadeonUser's Avatar
RadeonUser RadeonUser is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 131
Default

I've actually been given some thought to this for the past few months while I attempt to dissect/understand PJ64.

One of the major downsides of a 32bit cpu is its lack of registers, something the N64 CPU has plenty of.
An x64 CPU has additional registers so in theory there's quite the potential speed boost to gain there.

It's just a theory though and I imagine there would have to be some kind of scheduler to keep all the registers in use.
Ah well, maybe one day I'll get to it heh.
__________________
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E7600
Ram: 4GB DDR2
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4770
Sound Card: On-Board Realtek ALC889A
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 7th August 2010, 12:21 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

RadeonUser, the usage of SSE allows the use of 8 128bit registers (16 on AMD64).

fwiw though, the original SSE was useless. However i don't see Zilmar alienating a good part of the userbase by moving to SSE2.

The only real benefit of moving to 64bit would be for the Interpreter.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th August 2010, 07:27 AM
RadeonUser's Avatar
RadeonUser RadeonUser is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 131
Default

I'm curious to see your data to back that up squall.
I was under the impression no one had made a real push into it due to the lack of interest from the community.

Ultimately my plans will be to create an interpreter that takes advantage of multithreading (using at least two processors and their respective registers) and possibly using directcompute.

It's a learning experience to me more than anything and it'll hopefully be relevant to my dissertation when I get around to it.
__________________
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E7600
Ram: 4GB DDR2
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4770
Sound Card: On-Board Realtek ALC889A
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.