#1  
Old 18th April 2009, 02:51 PM
ziggyw ziggyw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default possible 64 bit?

I was wondering if it would be possible to make a 64bit version of PJ64. I'm a complete newb when it comes to programming languages and compiling them, so I have no idea if what I'm asking is a crazy suggestion or not.

I just thought I would ask about that since most systems coming out now have multi cored cpu's and over 4gb of ram. I personally just got a new laptop with a 64bit OS installed, and I really couldn't see myself going back to a 32bit os (hardware willing).

However like I said I'm not one for programming languages so I have absolutely no idea how crazy my request would be from a programming aspect.
  #2  
Old 18th April 2009, 04:47 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

Theres absolutely no point.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
  #3  
Old 18th April 2009, 05:48 PM
ziggyw ziggyw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default

well, thats good enough for me lol. You guys can go ahead and delete this thread if you want.
  #4  
Old 2nd May 2009, 05:09 PM
dgtb1994 dgtb1994 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
Theres absolutely no point.
Why is there no point?
  #5  
Old 28th May 2009, 11:20 PM
tuffguy45 tuffguy45 is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default

While the benefits can be argued, in general 64bit applications run "better" than their 32 bit counterparts because they "move" more memmory at once (32bits more actually

From a coding point of view I can understand why it wouldn't be worth it but, to say a 64bit application is the same performance wise as a 32bit is just wrong.
  #6  
Old 30th May 2009, 12:18 AM
Shadud Shadud is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgtb1994 View Post
Why is there no point?
I would say because Project64 would not benefit from the 64bit architecture.
  #7  
Old 10th June 2009, 06:26 AM
wuhlei wuhlei is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuffguy45 View Post
While the benefits can be argued, in general 64bit applications run "better" than their 32 bit counterparts because they "move" more memmory at once (32bits more actually

From a coding point of view I can understand why it wouldn't be worth it but, to say a 64bit application is the same performance wise as a 32bit is just wrong.
but the information is still processed one at a time? I heard in some situations 64 bit apps can slow down the system and is really only good for addressing over 3gig of ram?
  #8  
Old 10th June 2009, 09:32 AM
mudlord/RED mudlord/RED is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
From a coding point of view I can understand why it wouldn't be worth it but, to say a 64bit application is the same performance wise as a 32bit is just wrong.
If you are so sure, post benchmarks that prove as such that PJ64 WILL benefit from a complete rewrite. You are not forgetting you have to rewrite the core entirely to take advantage of it though.
  #9  
Old 12th June 2009, 06:27 AM
wuhlei wuhlei is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Default

check this out

Quote:
Originally Posted by windowshelp.microsoft.com View Post
What is the difference between 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Windows?


The terms 32-bit and 64-bit refer to the way a computer's processor (also called a CPU), handles information. The 64-bit version of Windows handles large amounts of random access memory (RAM) more effectively than a 32-bit system. For more details, go to A description of the differences between 32-bit versions of Windows Vista and 64-bit versions of Windows Vista online.
Quote:
Originally Posted by windowshelp.microsoft.com View Post
Would I benefit from using a 64-bit computer?


The benefits are most apparent when you have a large amount of random access memory (RAM) installed on your computer (typically 4 GB of RAM or more). Because a 64-bit operating system can handle large amounts of memory more efficiently than a 32-bit operating system can, a 64-bit system can be more responsive when running several programs at the same time and switching between them frequently.

For more information about the benefits of running 64-bit computers, see Understanding 64-bit PCs online.
  #10  
Old 22nd June 2009, 08:04 AM
Stewie Stewie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 37
Default

a 64bit emulator could fully emulate the 64bit instructions on the n64 which could yield greater emulation accuracy, although it would require much more memory.

does make sense a 64bit "64bit console" emulator, although would require a code rewrite.

Last edited by Stewie; 22nd June 2009 at 08:09 AM.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.