#11  
Old 22nd June 2009, 08:14 AM
Stewie Stewie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuhlei View Post
check this out
"typically 4 GB of RAM or more"

pj64 doesnt use 4gb + memory, when i run Perfect dark it only eats about 100mb of memory - i dont see pj64 taking advantage of that much memory
  #12  
Old 3rd August 2009, 03:54 PM
pcvii pcvii is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Default

It does seem like the jump from 32 bit to 64 bit, is a bit slower. I mean it seemed like when we went from 16 bit to 32 bit, it feels like it was overnight almost in comparison.

As long as support remains for 32 bit instructions we don't have much to worry about. Someday we might need a windows 32 bit emulator to run project 64. Maybe then they will come back after another long break of coding and give it another overhaul.
  #13  
Old 3rd August 2009, 04:39 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stewie View Post
a 64bit emulator could fully emulate the 64bit instructions on the n64 which could yield greater emulation accuracy, although it would require much more memory.

does make sense a 64bit "64bit console" emulator, although would require a code rewrite.
not all points of the n64 are 64bit, making this invalid.

secondly.
Doing so would render every 3rd party plugin incompatible with the emulator, and like anyones going to be bothered going back and 64bitting every frickin plugin that anyone is ever going to use.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
  #14  
Old 4th August 2009, 01:34 AM
Zeth Alkar's Avatar
Zeth Alkar Zeth Alkar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: On Earth
Posts: 17
Wink

I see no point in rewriting an entire emulator just to run the same damn thing in 64bit mode, cause the people who have processors that CAN run 64bit mode OS's are already waaaay over the specs to begin with. SO POINTLESS THREAD IS POINTLESS.
  #15  
Old 17th August 2009, 12:15 AM
UltraG4m3rR225 UltraG4m3rR225 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default

wtf?

Nintendo 64

This is an Emulator of the N64 which means its the exact same graphics


no point of posting this
can someone PLEASE close this thread?
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.