Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 6th February 2012, 12:40 AM
justin8571 justin8571 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 55
Default

DSX,

almost there I think. Found another thread where a moderator said to change the Counter Factor (options - settings - ROM settings). I've changed it from 2 to 4 and the speed seems about right.

I'm going to order a N64 to USB adapter tonight and wait to see how it feels using a proper controller as it's kind of weird using a keyboard to play.

I'll add another post once I've had a play with a controller, so thanks again for helping me get this far.

Justin
  #12  
Old 6th February 2012, 01:39 AM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

glad youre having success! most generic n64 usb adapters are pretty unreliable; ive got the clear blue one often seen on ebay and such, which doesnt work properly with all controllers. another commonly seen one is the Mayflash brand, which also has issues (there are numerous threads on these forums about them). ideally youd want adaptoids, but theyre quite rare and can go for $100 on ebay, so unfortunately, youll just have to hope that a generic one is compatible with your controllers!
  #13  
Old 6th February 2012, 12:15 PM
justin8571 justin8571 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 55
Default

Thanks for getting back to me. I think it's the Mayflash one that I've ordered. Hopefully I'll get it either tomorrow or Wednesday. Fingers crossed that it works ok.

Been playing around a bit this morning to try out a few things. Downloaded a new GPU driver so that I now have Catalyst. This has allowed me to alter screen scaling on the TV so I now have full screen, which is great.

My only other real issue at the moment is the speed of the game. On my NTSC N64 if I take a particular line around the track, no power-slides and no going through the tunnel it takes 37 seconds to do a lap at 150cc. I chose an easy route as I'm playing on the keyboard with the PC and didn't fancy my luck with the tunnel etc.

The only way I can see to alter the speed of the emulator is the counter factor that I mentioned I'd found on another thread. The nearest I can get is 41 seconds at 150cc on counter factor 3, or 32 seconds at 50cc on counter factor 2. Four or five seconds a lap might not sound a lot but it makes a huge difference to the feel of the game.

Do you know of any other factor that can be altered to bring the speed closer to the original? I haven't tried any of the other settings as I have no understanding as to what they do.

Otherwise, someone mentioned an Emulator called 1964 earlier in this thread which I may have to try. As you can probably tell I'm desperate to have Mario Kart 64 running as close to the original as possible, just with a better resolution so I can use it on a modern larger TV. This has to be the way forward somehow as I love the clarity of the graphics. However, the most important factor is the gameplay, and having been playing this for so many years with the same group of friends that has to come first. So, if I really can't get it almost spot on I'll have to admit defeat and stick with the N64. I still live in hope though!

Thanks again.

Justin

Last edited by justin8571; 6th February 2012 at 12:25 PM.
  #14  
Old 8th February 2012, 11:20 PM
justin8571 justin8571 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 55
Default

Hello,

received an N64 to USB controller adapter today, hooked it up and the game feels great. I'm really excited about this as it's the closest I've managed to get to the Mario Kart 64 holy grail of the same game just with an improved resolution.

I've only found a few minor issues so far so if anyone can offer some answers then I'd be very grateful.

1) Is there any way of altering the speed of the game other than using the counter factor as it's close to the original's speed but out by a few seconds a lap?

2) I got a Mayflash N64 to USB adapter today and the only issue I'm getting is not being able to map the down arrow C button on either of the two controllers I've attached. The PC recognises it when I'm calibrating but it doesn't work when trying the configure controller input screen.

3) The resolution is incredible, I've never seen Mario Kart look like this, but Karts and pick-ups etc don't pop-up into view until you're quite close to them. All the scenery's there perfectly though no matter how far the distance. Played with some settings but can't seem to change this. Any ideas?

Going to order a second Mayflash adapter tonight and then get some friends round soon for a testing session. It's looking really promising at the moment so fingers crossed all goes well.

Thanks again to everyone for the advice.

Justin
  #15  
Old 9th February 2012, 01:48 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justin8571 View Post
1) Is there any way of altering the speed of the game other than using the counter factor as it's close to the original's speed but out by a few seconds a lap?

2) I got a Mayflash N64 to USB adapter today and the only issue I'm getting is not being able to map the down arrow C button on either of the two controllers I've attached. The PC recognises it when I'm calibrating but it doesn't work when trying the configure controller input screen.

3) The resolution is incredible, I've never seen Mario Kart look like this, but Karts and pick-ups etc don't pop-up into view until you're quite close to them. All the scenery's there perfectly though no matter how far the distance. Played with some settings but can't seem to change this. Any ideas?
1) Sync audio? (in audio plugin settings)

2) Plugin?

3) Plugin?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
  #16  
Old 9th February 2012, 01:50 AM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

i think the close popup is part of the game's programming and can't be helped; this was done because of the n64's limitations, in almost every game.
  #17  
Old 9th February 2012, 09:43 AM
chuanfei chuanfei is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default office

Thanks for your sharing!
  #18  
Old 9th February 2012, 01:29 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,116
Default

Bot ololol ^^
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
  #19  
Old 9th February 2012, 09:40 PM
justin8571 justin8571 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 55
Default

Thanks guys for the continued help. As usual I've got a few questions for you though.

Just had a mate over to try out the Mayflash with two controllers running from it. Selected a four player game as that's what we always play, but with just the two of us to see how it ran while the other two karts sat on the starting line. This was glitchy on the Wii's Virtual Console to the point where it was unpleasant to play. However, running on Project64 with the screen at full resolution with all the graphics settings to max, Mario Kart 64 played like a dream - it's awesome.

Ordered another Mayflash now that I know the first works well. Looking forward to a proper test so see how it plays. Got two mates coming over on Tuesday but our other player's working away until March so we've got a slight wait on our hands before we can fully test it.

Anyway, it's question time again regarding my earlier 1,2 & 3;-

1) Is there any way of altering the speed of the game other than using the counter factor as it's close to the original's speed but out by a few seconds a lap?

2) I got a Mayflash N64 to USB adapter today and the only issue I'm getting is not being able to map the down arrow C button on either of the two controllers I've attached. The PC recognises it when I'm calibrating but it doesn't work when trying the configure controller input screen.

3) The resolution is incredible, I've never seen Mario Kart look like this, but Karts and pick-ups etc don't pop-up into view until you're quite close to them. All the scenery's there perfectly though no matter how far the distance. Played with some settings but can't seem to change this. Any ideas?


1) Sync audio - still being of noob status I'm not sure what that might do if you could explain a little please.

2) Not sure what to do with plugins. I'm using whatever came with P64 and wouldn't know what else to look for or do with it.

3) There isn't any pop-up in the N64 version that I've noticed (at least not on the only track we play - Koopa Beach) and you can see the karts from any distance but with the Project64 version it does happen, but in the grand scheme of things I really don't think it's an issue as everything else is so good. Anyway, on Koopa Beach it only happens on the start/finish stretch (as you can see quite a way in a straight line) and besides I normally check out everyone's screen anyway to see where they are.

So pleased with this on Project64, so a huge thank you to anyone who's had anything to do with the project whatsoever, I love it.

By the way, what on earth does Bot ololol ^^ mean?

Justin
  #20  
Old 10th February 2012, 02:30 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justin8571 View Post
1) Sync audio - still being of noob status I'm not sure what that might do if you could explain a little please.

2) Not sure what to do with plugins. I'm using whatever came with P64 and wouldn't know what else to look for or do with it.

3) There isn't any pop-up in the N64 version that I've noticed (at least not on the only track we play - Koopa Beach) and you can see the karts from any distance but with the Project64 version it does happen, but in the grand scheme of things I really don't think it's an issue as everything else is so good. Anyway, on Koopa Beach it only happens on the start/finish stretch (as you can see quite a way in a straight line) and besides I normally check out everyone's screen anyway to see where they are.
1) Go to options > configure audio > check sync game to audio

2&3) First go to here and place it in the plugins folder (Pj64 folder > plugins), BUT place the glide3x.dll in just the pj64 folder, then finally open pj64 > options > settings > then under "video plugin" select "glide64" and bam! it should work , also if the tv on Luigi circuit doesn't work post he and I'll tell you how to (hopefully ) fixed (even if it does work tell me, I'm just curious XD)

Quote:
Originally Posted by justin8571 View Post
By the way, what on earth does Bot ololol ^^ mean?
The poster before me was a bot
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.