#1  
Old 22nd June 2009, 08:18 AM
Stewie Stewie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 37
Default Dual Core Support

My request is for future pj64 to take advantage of dual/quad core processors.
n64-Core/rsp/graphics could all be shoved to a diffrent cpu cores.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd June 2009, 11:36 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,915
Default

are you going to write the intricate thread synching code required to maintain synchronisation between the RDP, RCP and RSP?
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st July 2009, 11:27 PM
f0xh4x0r f0xh4x0r is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Squall should stop trying to raise his post count and reply with something helpful. You must have been the kid that no one liked growing up eh?


Dual core support probably won't happen because it wouldnt be that useful. This may happen in the future when the devs get bored, if the devs get bored.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st August 2009, 03:48 AM
pj64u000 pj64u000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 42
Default

Dual core support for PJ64 doesn't really make much sense since most dual core processor are already powerful enough that just one core is more than capable of emulating Nintendo 64 games.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz * RAM: DDR2 4GB Dual Channel * GPU: 8800GT Superclocked * HDD: 640GB HD * OS: Windows Vista x64 Home Premium * Display: 1680 x 1050
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th March 2013, 10:27 PM
cdoublejj's Avatar
cdoublejj cdoublejj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pj64u000 View Post
Dual core support for PJ64 doesn't really make much sense since most dual core processor are already powerful enough that just one core is more than capable of emulating Nintendo 64 games.

yeah but, now with talk of wine coming to android. Now with CPUs like the intel atom or AMD e350 or c50. i could possibly see a need for it but, i think it'c capable of running on single pentium 4 thread, possibly Pentium 3 though i never got it running under windows 98 to test that.

it may not ever need more than 1 core to run smoothly.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th March 2013, 11:42 PM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

tested Project64 2.0 on my pentium 3 the other day (750MHz, windows xp), works at full speed with most games =D
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st August 2009, 03:50 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

lol I like to get bored so that it reminds me of what I could be accomplishing.
Then everything is Fun! yayz

Um on the thread, speed should come last.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st August 2009, 09:32 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,915
Default

ha, infact you couldn't be more wrong.

my question still stands.
is the op going to write the intricate and impossible thread sync sequencer that maintains the synchronisation of the 3 cores.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd August 2009, 06:32 PM
cdoublejj's Avatar
cdoublejj cdoublejj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 15
Default

why stop at 3 why not 4? i think dual core support would be nice too if needed there are some older slower dual cores and if running at higher resolutions it might help, but what do i know just my 2 cents.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd August 2009, 04:31 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,915
Default

Resolutions are entirely GPU dependant on PJ64.

the benefits of HLE.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.