Old 22nd September 2016, 09:47 PM

Default Compiling from source!

Hey there guys! I'm trying to compile pj64 from the source code provided on the site.

I'm using Visual Studios 2015 Enterprise, and am running into a lot of problems, as can be expected.

Do any of you have any experience compiling from source? What compiler seems to work best?

I don't mean to be one of those people, but I'm in over my head here, and would love some help.

I have the solution made in visual studios but I run into a ton of compile errors.
Old 22nd September 2016, 10:53 PM
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter

You need Visual Studio 2015 Community edition. Express is a cut down version. I did manage to compile the Project64.exe with VS2008 Express. Was a long time ago though.
Old 23rd September 2016, 12:17 AM

I have the Enterprise version. It should be even more complete than the community version of Visual Studio.

This is my first time building from a source code without a makefile or a something similar to that. Will I need to have all of the available source code (pj64, RSP Compiler, and RSP Interpreter) to be able to compile?

Will I need to use a compatibility mode in Visual Studios?

Sorry for all of the questions, like I said, I'm new to this, and haven't been able to find any guides online.

Last edited by Ntrl_Causes; 23rd September 2016 at 12:22 AM.
Old 23rd September 2016, 12:50 AM
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter

Just open the solution file (Project64.sln), select Release configuration and build solution.

There are lots of warnings, but you shouldn't get any errors that stop it from compiling.

After build is complete, I usually goto Source/Script folder and run package_zip.cmd. It will put Project64 package into a zip in Package folder next to solution file.

Last edited by Frank74; 23rd September 2016 at 12:56 AM.
Old 23rd September 2016, 02:02 PM
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ntrl_Causes View Post