Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th November 2012, 02:38 AM
emuguy17's Avatar
emuguy17 emuguy17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 129
Default Freezing Well

Hi

When I get to the part where you have to empty the well, the game freezes. I have tried both the default plugin and Glide 64.

Last edited by emuguy17; 6th September 2014 at 10:02 PM.
  #2  
Old 6th November 2012, 05:35 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Because in the case of Zelda you use the dynamic recompiler with the emulator.

You can change the method to change memory and cache, protect the memory, or upgrade the Project64.rdb settings database with the unofficial one here:
http://www.emutalk.net/threads/49385...okabu-amp-MASA
  #3  
Old 6th November 2012, 06:36 AM
emuguy17's Avatar
emuguy17 emuguy17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 129
Default

In options>settings>advanced I have now selected "protect the memory". Will test now to see if it works..
  #4  
Old 6th November 2012, 06:59 AM
emuguy17's Avatar
emuguy17 emuguy17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 129
Default

That worked! Thanks.
  #5  
Old 6th November 2012, 03:56 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Change Memory & Cache is faster than Protect Memory, but if you use that then there is a chance of random crashing in the Lost Woods as an adult.

But as long as speed is not an issue for you.
  #6  
Old 19th November 2012, 06:07 AM
emuguy17's Avatar
emuguy17 emuguy17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 129
Default

Does it work with jabos plugin as well? I mean, will selecting "protect the memory" while using Jabos' graphics eleminate the freezing well issue as well? Or does it only work with Glide64.
  #7  
Old 20th November 2012, 12:16 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

yah, plugins shouldn't affect
  #8  
Old 2nd February 2013, 04:41 AM
emuguy17's Avatar
emuguy17 emuguy17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 129
Default

It works with Jabos as well, so problem is completely solved, thanks.
  #9  
Old 6th September 2014, 10:02 PM
emuguy17's Avatar
emuguy17 emuguy17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 129
Default

Seems like this problem was completely solved in PJ64 2.0, good to see you guys fixing these types of bugs in PJ64.
  #10  
Old 6th September 2014, 10:11 PM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emuguy17 View Post
Seems like this problem was completely solved in PJ64 2.0, good to see you guys fixing these types of bugs in PJ64.
Pretty sure PJ64 2.1 uses protect memory by default for Zelda. The difference is the fact that protect memory is much faster in 2.1 than it is in 1.6 and prolly 1.7 too.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.