#1  
Old 30th June 2012, 04:26 PM
daaceking's Avatar
daaceking daaceking is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 707
Default Texture packs

Hello,

I was trying out texture packs. I found oot around 500 mb and used rice/mudlord plugin. I got textures to work and they look cool. The issue is that it runs slow. I dont know if it's my core 2 quad at 2.3 or whether it is the fact that it consists if 1000's of tiny files straining the hard drive. Any ideas? It pauses every 2 secs if that helps. So I'm confused. I do have an i7 but that's used less often.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st July 2012, 02:00 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,623
Default

And deh GPU is?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st July 2012, 08:28 AM
daaceking's Avatar
daaceking daaceking is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 707
Default

i sorted it out. in short rice/mudlord plugin is c***.

i found a post on how to set up glide64 properly. all's well

4850 powercolor

the texture pack i'm using is called the community restoration pack version 6 [i think it's really v5.8] anyway there are lots of detail but the issue is that i can only fully load it if i compress it. otherwise i get a c++ runtime error. the drawback is that i need to use anisotropic filtering to get non wierd looking effects. is there any other solution? bigger ram usage? glide64 settings?

i have 1gb vram and 4.5gb ram but it seems to crash at around 400mb

also, is there anyway to get hi-res characters or is that not possible. the sky and stuff look amazing but the people and zombies are still pretty dull by todays standards.

thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st July 2012, 10:38 AM
magmarock64 magmarock64 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 193
Default

What game is this for?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st July 2012, 11:13 AM
daaceking's Avatar
daaceking daaceking is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 707
Default

oot --> ocarina of time [not master quest]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st July 2012, 11:57 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,623
Default

Well of course , glide is always better XD
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st July 2012, 05:47 PM
daaceking's Avatar
daaceking daaceking is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 707
Default

i didn't know where to put the wrapper. i found iconoclast's post where he says put it next to the exe of pj64. i did it and it worked.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd July 2012, 12:45 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,623
Default

llllloooooooooollllllll
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd July 2012, 10:49 AM
magmarock64 magmarock64 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 193
Default

I'd like to try out this pack, anywhere I can download it?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd July 2012, 01:03 PM
daaceking's Avatar
daaceking daaceking is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 707
Default

http://www.emutalk.net/threads/51481...elopment-Topic
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.