#1  
Old 13th September 2011, 03:17 PM
SwooshyCueb's Avatar
SwooshyCueb SwooshyCueb is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 80
Lightbulb Config file folder selection

OK, the newer builds of 1.7 put the rdb file and everything in a subfolder in the PJ64 directory. Previous versions had the files in the PJ64 folder itself. For those using multiple builds working out of the same directory, this makes keeping the same versions of these files difficult. So, a good feature to have would be to be able to choose the folder where the config files are kept, just like you choose the place where saves are and such.

Yay/nay? Thoughts? It doesn't seem like something that would require a lot of work.

Last edited by SwooshyCueb; 13th September 2011 at 03:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th September 2011, 07:23 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,918
Default

or just stick to builds 50 and 51
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th September 2011, 07:45 PM
SwooshyCueb's Avatar
SwooshyCueb SwooshyCueb is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 80
Default

Riiight, but this is a suggestion for the final version of 1.7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th September 2011, 12:11 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,918
Default

you don't wanna hear my suggestion.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th September 2011, 02:00 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Although I'm a terrible example of this for never doing it until the \CONFIG subdirectory was introduced, individual builds or releases of Project64 are best tested separately away from the installation of the other builds so as not to conflict with older files.

But it is easy to change the configuration system later of course yes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd September 2011, 09:44 AM
=X= Smasherx74 =X= =X= Smasherx74 =X= is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 150
Default

He got this idea from me and henry. Project64k has config folder, and the easy set-up version comes with a data folder containing everything. You just load the emulator through the loader file which also fixes registry and auto sets directories.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd September 2011, 12:47 PM
SwooshyCueb's Avatar
SwooshyCueb SwooshyCueb is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 80
Default

Easy setup version? I thought it was pretty simple to begin with.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th September 2011, 01:36 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Yeah, though since Jabo and zilmar were so against their emulator being repackaged in any modified form--with any files removed, changed or added--I guess it made sense that they wanted to store everything in the system registry to reduce the effectiveness of re-archiving the emulator.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.