Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th November 2010, 05:05 PM
chup chup is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default Win7 controller issues

hey there, after reading 2 1/2 hours of threads in this forum i decided to finally register and post . First of all thanks for all the great work! i still own my old n64 but most of the games stopped working, so i am really glad to see someone working on carrying on the spirit of this gamestation.

I recently moved from using xp to win 7 pro 64.

I am using the public version of n64, the mayflash n64 to usb and a standard nintendo 64 controller .
glide64 napalmwx release1 video plugin
jabo's directsound1.6 audio plugin
nrage's direct input8 v2 2.2beta controller plugin
the new usb device has been found, configured and yet pj64 tells me "no controller detected"
also the sound is kinda laggy
using different controller plugins lead to the same outcome. any ideas?

thanks for your interest. chup

Last edited by chup; 25th November 2010 at 05:10 PM.
  #2  
Old 25th November 2010, 07:24 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

The sound shouldn't be laggy. If you mean with stutters or pauses it may just be specific to the game you're playing and/or your system specs. You can also try "Sync Game to Audio" in config for Jabo's DirectSound.

Is no controller detected if you try to play the game without the external device i.e. using a keyboard-only configuration?
  #3  
Old 2nd December 2010, 12:25 AM
chup chup is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default

thanks for your answer,
the sound stutters in all games i tried so far, including Zelda Oot, Zelda Mm, Mario64 and Conker's Bad Fur day. I tried Synchronizing it but this didnt fix it.

The Controller is detected in Windows but not in pj64. My Logitech Gamepad works fine . I got no issues on Winxp 32 bit.
pj64 detects NO CONTROLLER , keyboard works fine.

By the way, i usually play on my LCD TV connected via hdmi as a second Screen. everytime i switch to fullscreen and try to use my pc while playing the emulator goes to window mode again and every 2nd time the game crashes. i doubt this has anything to do with my hardware. could you fix this, kinda force it to stay in fullscreen in your next release?

Thanks,
Chup

ps english isnt my native language so please be kind
  #4  
Old 2nd December 2010, 01:00 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

The crash on second full screen reset issue is probably to do with the software drivers for your video hardware. Changing the graphics plugin to something else should also affect the issue.

"NO CONTROLLER" shouldn't happen if "Plugged" is checked in the config for Controller 1 in N-Rage's.

Try Azimer's Audio HLE for sound.
  #5  
Old 2nd December 2010, 01:47 PM
Experiment #150's Avatar
Experiment #150 Experiment #150 is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Right_nex_door_lawl_Ihascake
Posts: 1,456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rswedlow View Post
"NO CONTROLLER" shouldn't happen if "Plugged" is checked in the config for Controller 1 in N-Rage's.
There should be a little drop-down list of the available controllers as well.

Oh and switch to N-rage
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
seriously. do it.
  #6  
Old 2nd December 2010, 08:36 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

In his post it's said that he's using
Quote:
Originally Posted by chup View Post
nrage's direct input8 v2 2.2beta controller plugin
, or he was just listing a bunch of random plugins that he may or may not have been using. :/
  #7  
Old 2nd December 2010, 09:01 PM
Experiment #150's Avatar
Experiment #150 Experiment #150 is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Right_nex_door_lawl_Ihascake
Posts: 1,456
Default

I may or may not have seen that and might just be listing a good plugin from habit
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
seriously. do it.
  #8  
Old 2nd December 2010, 09:06 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

lmao well it's all good; got to make sure he's using the ultimate controller input plugin after all.

Listing it is an insufficient way of addressing its awesomeness.
  #9  
Old 2nd December 2010, 09:22 PM
Experiment #150's Avatar
Experiment #150 Experiment #150 is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Right_nex_door_lawl_Ihascake
Posts: 1,456
Default

Chorus of angels in the background: AWESOOOOOOOME!!!!!



:O WHAT YOU SAY?!

HA. HA. HA. HA. HA. HA
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
seriously. do it.
  #10  
Old 2nd December 2010, 10:41 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

Haha well I don't want to piss off Rad, so time to wait for this guy to come back before posting here again. Basically for certain games the 1.6 version of Jabo's DirectSound doesn't have as good calculation, and an HLE audio plugin like some of Azimer's plug-ins has better control over this.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.