#1  
Old 2nd September 2018, 03:10 PM
professorskeeter professorskeeter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1
Default Controls Won't Save

I'm trying to use a wired PS4 controller using the DS4 Windows tool so that the controller will be recognized as a Xbox 360 controller. It's picking up the controller just fine, but when I try to edit the controls (by default the B and Y buttons are set to "None") they will not change. When I exit out and come back, the values are back to "none". I've tried to save the controller profile to the Project64 2.3 directory but when I load it, the B and Y values are still "none". How can I get my controls to save?!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd September 2018, 01:50 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,623
Default

What plugin are you using?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th September 2018, 06:06 PM
Tenshi Cat Tenshi Cat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
Default

I think I've managed to isolate the issue. This is using the default N-Rage plugin that comes with the latest version of Project64. Here's my desired setup (I know it seems strange, but it makes sense with the Xbox One Duke controller I'm using, which has the black and white buttons above the face buttons function the same as the LB and RB buttons):



But, when I click Save at the bottom right, then the Save button under it to exit out of the settings, bringing them up again shows that all the C button bindings have been removed, so the problem seems to be specific to those. Like the OP I've tried saving the profile and loading it, but that doesn't help either.



I also downloaded N-Rage V2 2.3c and tried out mapping the C buttons with that, and doing so makes Project64 close entirely when I click the save button, rather comically.


Last edited by Tenshi Cat; 12th September 2018 at 06:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th September 2018, 01:55 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,623
Default

Hmm, maybe someone can check it out, but I wouldn't hold my breath.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th September 2018, 04:51 PM
Tenshi Cat Tenshi Cat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
Default

Looks like being unable to bind anything but the right stick to the C buttons will remain a known issue with the latest version of Project64, then. I'd best try some earlier versions and see if it works in them.

Edit: I tried out version 2.3.0.210 and can confirm that it has the same problem.

Edit 2: Okay, I've figured out a solution! I tried version 1.6 of Project64, and that one's controller plugin actually does save the C button bindings. So I tried out the plugin with the latest version of the program, and it still works! Here's a link for you to download it.

Last edited by Tenshi Cat; 14th September 2018 at 02:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th September 2018, 03:06 AM
Tenshi Cat Tenshi Cat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
Default

Since we shouldn't hold our breath for this getting fixed, I've figured out a workaround. Go to this link and you can download an earlier version of Project64. But you don't actually need to use that version. Once you install it, go the Project64 1.6 - Plugin folder, find Jabo_DInput and copy that to your Project64 2.3 - Plugin - Input folder. Then open the latest version of Project64, go to the settings and change the controller plugin like so:



And with this one, you should actually be able to map the C button controls!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th September 2018, 03:03 PM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,008
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by professorskeeter View Post
How can I get my controls to save?!
I think you could edit the cfg file, but you'd have to know what to write. Using Jabo's input as you mentioned is a fine alternative imo.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th September 2018, 03:21 PM
Tenshi Cat Tenshi Cat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 8
Default

Sorry for the double post on my part. The first post got hidden, presumably because the automatic spam filter didn't like me linking to a DLL file download, so I wrote the second one to explain how to get it without me linking directly to it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
controller, controls, profile, save

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.