Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 9th April 2013, 09:25 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
I am not quite sure the meaning of "Re-running the task".
I was using his (zilmar's) words.
I was never able to implement zilmar's way of hacking out of the permanent loops because it was not open-source and I had no idea what he meant. It turns out it only works under the integration of PJ64 1.7:2.0, not 1.6 ... certain emulators.

Again, it's a hack. (One I was hoping to implement but had to cancel.)
You would have to ask him or read into the 1.7 RSP source to know what he meant by re-running the task.
  #12  
Old 9th April 2013, 09:35 PM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 988
Default

the emulator re-runs it.
the rsp just exits the task
  #13  
Old 9th April 2013, 09:40 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zilmar View Post
the emulator re-runs it.
the rsp just exits the task
Which game?
  #14  
Old 9th April 2013, 09:49 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

Try Gauntlet Legends.
  #15  
Old 10th April 2013, 01:38 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zilmar View Post
the emulator re-runs it.
the rsp just exits the task
I have tried gauntlet Legends (USA) on Project64 2.0 with

- 1964Video r46 & Jabo Direct3D8 1.6.1
- Jabo DirectSound 1.7.0.8
- Jabo DirectInput 1.7.0.12
- RSP plugin 1.7.0.9 (recompiler)

Then I got error dialog of "Fatal Error: stop emulation" every time when the game just running.


If I run gaunlet legends (USA) on Project6 1.6 with

- 1964Video r46
- Jabo DirectSound 1.6.1
- Jabo DirectInput 1.6.1
- RSP plugin 1.6 & RSP plugin 1.7.0.9 (spec-1.1)

Game running very slow and I got exception of "Exception occured when process D list" when entering level one.

----------------------
But I can play gaunlet legends (USA) on 1964 without problems with
- 1964Video
- Jabo DirectSound 1.6.1
- Jabo DirectInput 1.6.1
- RSP plugin 1.6 & RSP plugin 1.7.0.9 (spec-1.1) & No RSP

---------------------

I can't see the differences between with and without "re-run the task" code.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg error-1.jpg (16.4 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg error-2.jpg (19.7 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg screen-3.jpg (20.5 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by shunyuan; 10th April 2013 at 01:49 AM.
  #16  
Old 10th April 2013, 02:29 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
Try Gauntlet Legends.
You need to use LLE GFX for the issue to show.
There is no re-running the RSP needed for audio tasks, only LLE gfx tasks.

So you need to use z64gl or Jabo's D3D8 1.7.x with "Use HLE graphics" disabled in the Project64 options in order to use LLE gfx.

Also, the CPU recompiler featured in Project64 2.0 is unusable with Gauntlet Legends.
It requires that the interpreter core be set in the game's RDB game-specific settings.
  #17  
Old 10th April 2013, 02:30 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
He's probably just referring to the new feature to abort the RSP task if there is a permanent loop that cannot be exited, like Gauntlet Legends and Stunt Racer 64.
Another game that this issue happens with (again, only on LLE gfx) is World Driver Championship, which required angrywife's RSP until zilmar added the bypass.
  #18  
Old 10th April 2013, 04:43 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,255
Default

Meh.

Maybe I can't get it to come out of you, but if it's one thing I can brag about.

The system of changes between the 1.6 RSP and 1.7.0.9 RSP is very much less than what you might expect. According to zilmar almost nothing got changed since 1.6 except a bug fix to Mario, some added system control checking, and destroying his legacy element decoder in favor of vector result prebuffering.

That is aside from the severed plugin system conformance hindering its initialization on any N64 emulator that is not Project64 1.7 and up. To get LLE graphics going and actually take full advantage of any changes that might have been made since PJ64 1.6 RSP, we return to my original point of rewriting the plugin to be in conformance with older emulators, where LLE/HLE RSP must be set within the RSP somehow.


So as long as nobody has the motivation to finish porting the Project64 2.0's RSP to work on non-2.0 emulators.

MY RSP PLUGIN WILL SURVIVE AS THE INCONTESTABLY BEST SP INTERPRETER EVAAAAHHHHHH!11!!
MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAA
 

Tags
n64, plugin, rsp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.