#1  
Old 22nd January 2013, 07:06 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Question Question on keyboard input, anyone?

Just a question about keyboards. Nothing to do with N64 emu or plugins.

It's about limitations like, locking certain key press combos over others.

If you don't know can you do this simple test please,
Open up Notepad or whatever, just type some text somewhere.

Hold the "A" key for some seconds, then press U,I,E (I don't care what order; try all of them at once perhaps.)

My results:
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaiue

Now try it with 'S'. Hold S for some seconds, then press E+U+I.
My results: ssssssssssssssssssssssssiue

Now with 'W':
wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwiue

And one more time, finally with 'D':
ddddddddddddddiu

No 'E' in the last one??
It gets locked for some reason if I do D+UIE, but not with A+, W+, or S+.

Does anyone *NOT* get those results?
Or does anyone know why that is?

It is a small hardware interference with my keyboard plugin which nobody else here needs to test.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd January 2013, 10:16 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,679
Default

I also depends on your keyboard I'd suppose, I has a gaming one so I can press more buttons at once :3, there are some that let you press infinite at once
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd January 2013, 10:18 PM
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere near you.
Posts: 5,075
Default

Works for me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd January 2013, 10:45 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

Not buttons, just keys.

It doesn't work here or at home, both Dell keyboards.

Is this a problem with Dell keyboards?

Are people like Nate using something fancier?

Are people not following the instructions properly?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd January 2013, 11:22 PM
Tsukasa035 Tsukasa035 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Default

I tested it, and when doing D and then E+U+I, I only get the E. U and I don't get parsed.

W, A and S all work fine. Using a Trust keyboard.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd January 2013, 11:26 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,260
Default

Right.

I will have to change the analog / control stick to something else, like using the arrow keys in this case.

But rather than adding a DllConfig, I think I will just make a GNU console EXE for editing my DLL at the spots where the keyboard controls setup is. Other than this I feel nobody should have a reason to change the keyboard setup for games, that would not have the intelligence to recompile the source code So I will have this update hopefully by tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.