#1  
Old 19th April 2013, 06:00 PM
Scootaloo's Avatar
Scootaloo Scootaloo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 25
Default Crashing on full screen exit

I'm using the Rice plugin. I know that it is not the best (from what some people on the forum say about it anyway), but I want to use the lovely HD texture pack for OOT.

Issue: when exiting full screen the emulator crashes without giving any message(s).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th April 2013, 07:02 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

No Windows crash message?

Like, encountered a problem and needs to close?
No link in the error message box saying "View details" or click for more info, etc..

But I anticipate that it's most likely a driver issue.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th April 2013, 07:59 PM
Scootaloo's Avatar
Scootaloo Scootaloo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
No Windows crash message?

Like, encountered a problem and needs to close?
No link in the error message box saying "View details" or click for more info, etc..

But I anticipate that it's most likely a driver issue.
No. I should say: it freezes and it does not give any error message(s). I have to kill the process in task manager. Also I don't know what would be wrong with my drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th April 2013, 08:01 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

That's strange...you sure it happens only with RiceVideo dll?

Not an issue with Jabo's Direct3D or any other graphics plugins?

Couldn't be a core issue?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th April 2013, 08:12 PM
Scootaloo's Avatar
Scootaloo Scootaloo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
That's strange...you sure it happens only with RiceVideo dll?

Not an issue with Jabo's Direct3D or any other graphics plugins?

Couldn't be a core issue?
I think it's the plugin, because I tried the default one and it can exit and enter full screen with no problem.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th April 2013, 02:15 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Sorry I had a brain fart.
It was a crash on window/full-screen switch, not emulation exit.

As I said I have a feeling (I've seen this issue on other people's systems before) that it is a driver issue.

Do you know what video card you have?
Let's try to upgrade your drivers if possible.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th April 2013, 04:04 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

known/old rice issue.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th April 2013, 07:17 AM
Scootaloo's Avatar
Scootaloo Scootaloo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
Sorry I had a brain fart.
It was a crash on window/full-screen switch, not emulation exit.

As I said I have a feeling (I've seen this issue on other people's systems before) that it is a driver issue.

Do you know what video card you have?
Let's try to upgrade your drivers if possible.
Alright I'm using Nvidia GeForce GT430 (1GB). According to the Nvidia driver site my driver is up-to-date (GeForce 314.22 Driver).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th April 2013, 12:41 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Yep that is up-to-date...

Well tell you what I've heard about this exact issue with RiceVideo before; I have just never been able to reproduce it on my exact setups in the past. As an experiment you could try changing the rendering engine on the "General Options" config from "DirectX" to "OpenGL" to see if that affects the issue, but I don't really know of any major config that would be bound to fix this type of thing.

Have you also considered using Glide64 to load the RiceVideo texture paks? Personally I just use RiceVideo 6.1.0c, but you don't have to be like me.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th April 2013, 12:52 PM
Scootaloo's Avatar
Scootaloo Scootaloo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
Yep that is up-to-date...

Well tell you what I've heard about this exact issue with RiceVideo before; I have just never been able to reproduce it on my exact setups in the past. As an experiment you could try changing the rendering engine on the "General Options" config from "DirectX" to "OpenGL" to see if that affects the issue, but I don't really know of any major config that would be bound to fix this type of thing.

Have you also considered using Glide64 to load the RiceVideo texture paks? Personally I just use RiceVideo 6.1.0c, but you don't have to be like me.
I might do that, but before I try doing that I will probably try the new version that came out today:



I don't really care which plugin/version I have to use I just want to play Zelda OOT in HD. I tried playing it without the texture pack and it was painful (I know I'm sounding picky, but it's true).
Attached Files
File Type: 7z RiceVideo.7z (824.1 KB, 2 views)

Last edited by Scootaloo; 20th April 2013 at 12:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
god of the new world game

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.