Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th September 2013, 02:49 AM
Con Con is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 15
Question Project64 as a x64 exclusive? (64 bit OS)

Hey, I was wondering if a x64 (PC architecture) CPU version of Project64 would ever be made?

If so, what benefits could come of using Project64 as a 64bit application?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th September 2013, 04:18 PM
uyjulian uyjulian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 29
Default

nope... project64 is really outdated and buggy, you should try mupen64plus.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th September 2013, 05:45 PM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uyjulian View Post
nope... project64 is really outdated and buggy, you should try mupen64plus.
With a GUI frontend. CLI-only sucks.
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th September 2013, 04:02 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

I like to invoke the old Mupen64 in pure CLI without using the Win32 GUI made by Shadowprince.

</trollin>

</butalsokindaseriousXP>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th September 2013, 04:30 AM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BatCat View Post
I like to invoke the old Mupen64 in pure CLI without using the Win32 GUI made by Shadowprince.

</trollin>

</butalsokindaseriousXP>
I see what you did there....
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th September 2013, 05:36 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

How am I supposed to get some honiez with the GUI?

When I'm like, "Yo baby, look at mah gooey!", you know what they say to me?
They fukken laugh!

When I show them that CLI...
...ahhh...
Get ALL da honiez with dat CLI!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th September 2013, 12:34 AM
autofire372 autofire372 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
Default

Yeah, I for one will never use Mupen64Plus, as I have never been able to get any of its GUI frontends working on Windows, HATE operating from the command line, and don't want to have to boot into Linux Mint every time I want to play some N64. Even if it did have a working GUI on Windows, there remains the fact that Mupen's input plugin still lacks support for rumble on anything other than Linux. I consider its lack of transfer pak emulation (yes, I do occasionally play Pokémon Stadium) to be a deal breaker as well.

Last edited by autofire372; 15th September 2013 at 12:34 AM. Reason: more grammatically sound
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th September 2013, 12:39 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

If there is a working GUI for Mupen64Plus on Windows, that means you could just change the input plugin to something which does support the transfer pak, like N-Rage's DirectInput.

And there are several things you can do in CLI which you can't do using a GUI.
Like using a flexible batch commands script to invoke multiple parameters at once to a program's function, rather than clicking, dragging and typing a crap load of things in a GUI.

But, personal point of view. Not saying you're wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th September 2013, 12:48 AM
autofire372 autofire372 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
Default

I think mupen64plus doesn't follow zilmar's plugin spec, meaning it is incompatible with N-Rage...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15th September 2013, 01:00 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

It is still based closely on the zilmar plugin spec, so porting the plugin over would not be difficult work at all.
They omitted zilmar from the spec file credits though, even though they obviously resemble his.

Last edited by HatCat; 15th September 2013 at 01:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.