Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th July 2010, 04:31 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default [RSP] Emulator Test for NZSP Debug Version

[The PAL release 2 debug version of Legend of Zelda, The: Majora's Mask was found over four months ago. The information logged here is not directed to reference the numerous studies done to distinguish a debug version from its original release by its memory features.]

In all screens given here, the debugging text is different based on what RSP emulation code is used in session.
Values that may change are "CIC CPUTEST", "SP_STATUS", and "1M FLASH ROM".

zilmar-Jabo 1.4-1.7.0.3
Hacktarux-Azimer 0.2
ziggy r17


schibo-Rice 0.9.9-1.1


LaC/Lemmy (Nemu64 0.8)


Apollo's RSP (0.3)


All screens were rendered using ziggy's LLE RDP release 17.

So can anyone fill in on what the "CIC CPUTEST" part is in relation to?
If any one of them, which of those screens indicate the most RSP accuracy?
Among what I tested, why did only Nemu64's RSP emulation return 00000241 for SP_STATUS?
Why is Apollo's interpreter core nearly twice the speed of the re-compilers of the other emulators for this game....

With 1964
Code:
[9FC385E5-3ECC05C7-C:50]
Game Name=ZELDA MAJORA'S MASK
Comments=Playable
Alternate Title=Legend of Zelda, The:  Majora's Mask (Debug)
Check Self-modifying Code=7
Emulator=2
RDRAM Size=2
Max FPS=3
Save Type=4
TLB=1
EEPROM Size=1
Counter Factor=1
Use Register Caching=2
FPU Hack=1
DMA=2
Link 4KB Blocks=2
Advanced Block Analysis=2
Assume 32bit=2
HLE=2
NumberOfPlayers=1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th July 2010, 02:14 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,918
Default

Boot chips. The N64's lockout scheme employs quite a few different boot chips (called CICs) that reside in the game cartridge, and unless the CIC provides the correct response to the N64, it will refuse to boot the game that is inserted. So, without a proper CIC at all, the N64 will refuse to boot. This is also a problem, say, if you are attempting to boot your backup device with a cartridge that has a NUS-CIC-6102 bootchip, and the program that you are attempting to boot uses a different chip, such as a NUS-CIC-6105. Since the boot code in the 6105 program image does not work with the 6102, the N64 will not allow the program to run.
At the beginning, each game with a different bootchip would be cracked in order to work with a different boot chip (according to fab, Star Fox 64 was the first US game to use a different boot chip than the standard 6102), but as the games with alternate bootchips grew in number, this process soon became tedious, and sometimes the cracks would not work 100%, causing crashes or save problems.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th July 2010, 12:38 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

I remember about boot chips (also remember that text from icequake.net) and doing a CRC of the boot code to get the chip extension.

Then what I don't know is about the eight bits that are being measured as "CIC CPUTEST". Are those their own boolean verifications of CIC boot? Why does changing the RSP emulator (either a plug-in or the RSP emulation code used by some other emulators internally) affect the results of those bits?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th July 2010, 12:42 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,918
Default

different levels of accuracy during the boot.

you'll probably get something different again via interpretor.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th July 2010, 12:46 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

If all of those bits are set to 1 I wonder if that indicates full accuracy?

I tested the re-compiler and interpreter for 1964 and Nemu64 (and zilmar's RSP interpreter), though that didn't affect the bits.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th January 2013, 10:48 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Dang. Been so long since I posted this.
butt I R h4s n33d teh h4lpz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stone Cold E.T. View Post
zilmar-Jabo 1.4-1.7.0.3
Hacktarux-Azimer 0.2
ziggy r17


schibo-Rice 0.9.9-1.1


LaC/Lemmy (Nemu64 0.8)


Apollo's RSP (0.3)


All screens were rendered using ziggy's LLE RDP release 17.
Can somebody please (remind?) me how the hell I got that text to show in the debug ROM?

For some reason it's always just a regular N logo screen for me now when I load the game.

Since so much time has passed I already know the answer to my own question about the SP status bits, just not the "CIC CPU test".

That LaC/Nemu RSP screenshot is kind of funny though.
0x241 means he just sets the HALT status to break out of the RSP all the time. Supposedly the BROKE status is technically obsolete for the simulator, but currently I am using it to differentiate by which method of choice the programmer chose to break out of the RSP microcode: using BREAK or by means of MTC0.

method A:
Code:
BREAK   # no operands
method B:
Code:
ADDI    $1, $zero, 2 # at = 2;
MTC0    $1, $c4 # CPR[0, SP_STATUS] |= SP_STATUS_HALT;
VNOP
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th January 2013, 01:33 AM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

Controller 2 has to be plugged in

Last edited by dsx_; 6th October 2013 at 03:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th January 2013, 08:01 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stone Cold E.T. View Post
Dang. Been so long since I posted this.
butt I R h4s n33d teh h4lpz
Keyboard plugin should be re-built or hex-edited to send the Controller 2 status to the CPU carry. Try doing a quick edit there, or just set the keyboard up for both controllers maybe?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th January 2013, 08:01 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stone Cold E.T. View Post
Keyboard plugin should be re-built or hex-edited to send the Controller 2 status to the CPU carry. Try doing a quick edit there, or just set the keyboard up for both controllers maybe?
OMG MAN WA0 THX12!11!

I forgot about that must have been using N-Rage all those years ago without knowing both controller bits needed to be sent.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dix! View Post
wat
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st January 2013, 12:42 AM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

sorry just trying to help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.