#1  
Old 16th October 2008, 01:12 PM
Induna Induna is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default Turok Dinosaur Hunter

Hi, I was playing Turok using PJ64 v1.6. Great emu but a few problems I've found.

The game was playing flawlessly until it hit level 3 in the game. When I came to a switch guarded by a campaigner that lowers a set of large stone blocks to reveal an underground passage way underneath the temple. The game constantly froze. I tried it numerous times but it always froze at that point. I did however manage to get past by hitting the switch then running away from that area until the large blocks had finished lowering. Have you come accross this before?

Also, when you die (ie. fall off a ledge) the death sequence of Turok falling and screaming to his death fails to kick in and you get a black screen with the sound still playing. This happens now and again but it can be annoying.

Lastly in the hub area of the game with the archways to each level. Level 4 The Ruins doesn't seem to work at all. The screen goes bright white as you enter through the archway but then freezes. Is this a known bug or is there a workaround for it?

System specs if you need them, AthlonXP 2800+, 1.5GB memory, ABIT Siluro FX5900 OTES 128MB (I know, crap).

Thanks.
  #2  
Old 17th October 2008, 12:38 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Update the RDB file.
http://www.pj64-emu.com/downloads/project64/updates/

The instability you described obviously refers to the known compatibility issues in the core. If the update doesn't work try:
Right-click the name in the image browser, Edit Game Settings..., set the core style to "Interpreter"
  #3  
Old 18th October 2008, 03:01 PM
Induna Induna is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Hi. Yeah I already installed the update files before I played Turok.

I'm confused about the right-clicking in the image browser you mentioned. Do you mean when you search to the folder with roms in then right-click on the rom you want to play? I didn't see "edit game settings".
  #4  
Old 18th October 2008, 04:00 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

When you start Project64 there may be a list of games installed.

File > Choose Rom Directory...
Project64 will list all games installed in the folder you choose there. Pressing F5 updates changes in the image browser.

If Turok is listed there you want to right-click that and then choose "Edit Game Settings...".
  #5  
Old 20th October 2008, 06:35 PM
Induna Induna is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Ah, I found it. OK I changed core style to interpreter and no luck, still the same problems. I tried default as well.

Do you get this problem too? You can easily test this by using the cheat menu and try and warp to level 4. All the levels work except 4. I've been playing level 5 and 6. On 5 when you pick up the last key towards the end of the level you get the black screen and when you try to exit level 6 by the end portal it freezes again.
  #6  
Old 28th October 2008, 02:07 PM
Induna Induna is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Well I tried playing this on another pc with a different graphics card. Still cannot access level 4. Can anybody else confirm this? Perhaps it should be mentioned in the compatible list?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.