Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th November 2010, 07:52 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default Use a different api for saving screenshots.

iirc pj64 uses the windows imaging api or something like that, however on windows 7 this causes a major hit to quality for all screenshots saved directly via pj64.

screenshots created with fraps in either png, bmp or jpg are higher quality under windows 7.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th November 2010, 01:35 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

If I want quality, I'll just use glN64 and hold F3 down to record animations / movies in BMP files per frame.

I did mention this to Jabo a few weeks back, though. Seems he likes the current quality setting as is, or so he said at the old beta forum, citing the smaller size for screen shots when posting to the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th November 2010, 09:27 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

The currently quality isn't an issue, its the fact that under windows 7 the conversion to and from bmp is an instant degradation in quality.

you can see this when applying jpgs as desktop images from windows image viewer.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th November 2010, 06:48 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

That's because MS is like, obsessed with JPEG. Even if I use a bitmap / icon resourced from my IM client for my MSN profile picture, it still converts it to JPEG automatically (and, when auto-away or idle is set, auto-formats my present display picture as JPEG if I use normal MSN client).

Yeah I got what you meant about the imaging API being in conflict with Windows 7; I just meant I don't really come a long way for quality. For compatibility with Windows 7 the API should be changed, but ehh idk I tend to use Alt+PrtScrn. Maybe removing the generate bitmap feature wouldn't be totally bad either since it's not a function of an emulator.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.