Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 23rd March 2011, 01:47 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

not thin enough that it doesn't bork buffers up entirely. WASAPI is the worst for buffering.

Trouble is, like i said, when sync to audio is enabled, there is an excessive amount of latency between input and output. this affects both 1.6 and 1.7 on vista/7.

As for popping, in every other directsound app, you can work around it by increasing the amount of buffers and minimise the buffer length to keep latency down.
for instance, 4 buffers with 15ms intervals has both output popping and lag in older snes9x builds, whilst 6buffers at 10ms reduce both for clear sound.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1

Last edited by squall_leonhart; 23rd March 2011 at 01:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23rd March 2011, 10:03 PM
Jabo's Avatar
Jabo Jabo is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Project64 Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

I remember a while ago that we had discussions around this same topic, reliability and latency are kind of inversely related, dealing with small chunks makes it more prone to popping, I always had this problem when I multitasked for example.

Anyway regardless, I put those hidden options in. If anyone finds changing the options around improves the experience I can expose them in the plugin UI that's a bit friendlier, please let me know what settings improve things and what hardware you have. For my own systems I've never had a problem, and the latency at least for me is acceptable in the games I play.

Perhaps a specific game has a lot of lag, that is something that can be fixed... also hang on for a new build with some improvements
__________________
Project64 Developer
HP Laptop, Intel P7540 with GMA4500, Windows 7

Last edited by Jabo; 23rd March 2011 at 10:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24th March 2011, 04:20 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

i would prefer to tweak the buffer count and length individually, but thats just me.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24th March 2011, 10:05 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

They appear individual to me. :/

Apparently on this hardware, always worked perfectly. Even with the more technical audio issues like with TWINE 007, Ms. Pac-Man, etc., other games where if you use game-to-audio sync it froze the frame rate, that was also fixed after 1.6. Only thing I've had to tweak in 1.7 was gfx, input, RSP, R4300.

Consequently as I'm remembering it this support for the other hardware in the DS plugin is the only suggestion / bug report remaining.

edit, except previously a prebuffer config for top gear rally

Last edited by HatCat; 24th March 2011 at 10:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 25th March 2011, 05:55 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

Quote:
They appear individual to me. :/
no they don't.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 25th March 2011, 08:04 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Well that's your fault.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 25th March 2011, 09:55 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

im not talking about alchemy ......
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 27th March 2011, 04:33 PM
Jabo's Avatar
Jabo Jabo is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Project64 Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

The next build should fix lag in games that have very low frequencies (GoldenEye for example is 22.5khz)... not sure if anyone noticed that.

Additionally "sync game to audio" should be on by default, I can't see any examples where this causes excess latency? Does it still hang some games?

Has anyone noticed in games like "Goemon's Great Adventure" if you turn the frame limiter off it reduces popping drastically?
__________________
Project64 Developer
HP Laptop, Intel P7540 with GMA4500, Windows 7

Last edited by Jabo; 27th March 2011 at 07:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 28th March 2011, 12:21 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

in that case, Limit frames should be made a per game setting and be off for all games that are audio synced by default. theres some issues that can crop up if you have both enabled at once. (like hitching)
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 28th March 2011, 09:01 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

I was always wondering if there was a balance of compromise or even really any difference at all, if you have limit FPS on or off when the game-to-audio sync is in use. In general I've always found results satisfactory with it turned off, so probably not so much of a per-game decision to make so much as a general trend to automatically disable the FPS limitation where the audio sync is used.

"The next build should fix lag in games that have very low frequencies (GoldenEye for example is 22.5khz)... not sure if anyone noticed that."
Not in accordance to the frequency...but yes. Didn't know it was to do with that.

Especially with Azimer's Audio, if you disable the "Emulate/Simulate AI" option to reduce crackling even more and sync the audio more. On some games it really bogged down the frame rate even more than others.

With the one-setting implementation in the DirectSound plugin here though it wasn't as noticeable, though yes some games had rates more bogged down in consequence to audio sync.

"Additionally "sync game to audio" should be on by default, I can't see any examples where this causes excess latency? Does it still hang some games?"

Nope not that I have seen. I remember a list of games where it hung on 1.6, but all of those are completely safe with audio sync on in 1.7. I'm sure in some new beta package people will test there is time for someone to come across a game where maybe it might hang somewhere? But on all recent betas I've never found one.

"Has anyone noticed in games like "Goemon's Great Adventure" if you turn the frame limiter off it reduces popping drastically?"

Hm, actually, in just now testing Goemon's Great Adventure, I haven't heard any popping at all unless of course just the crackling from having limit FPS and audio sync both turned off. Maybe it's another system-correlative result.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.