Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th October 2010, 11:37 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default Emulation thread has more priority than GUI/Window thread.

Easy to reproduce really,

start majora's mask,
begin a new game.

after the intro, walk forward a little bit and turn off the frame limiter, Keyboard input and attempting to click the menu's will be substantially lagged, making turning the frame limiter back on difficult.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th October 2010, 01:29 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Unable to reproduce within this environment. Might be because I have the two "RSP 1 . 7 . 0 . 3" versions mixed up though, but I know I've had this exact issue with 1964 back when I had XP. Stuff like full screen transitional stages or plugin connectivity...yeah I imagine it's multi-threading-related.

Last edited by HatCat; 19th October 2010 at 01:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th October 2010, 02:04 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

it may be because of firefox having flash open as well that i could get itt o happen.

zilmar, would it be possible to multicore optimise the emulator a bit... im not meaning seperate core from gfx or anything, just run the gui thread on another core.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th October 2010, 05:25 AM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
it may be because of firefox having flash open as well that i could get itt o happen.

zilmar, would it be possible to multicore optimise the emulator a bit... im not meaning seperate core from gfx or anything, just run the gui thread on another core.
the gui and core are seperate threads .. so should in theory run on other cpu .. I can look at increasing the priority of the gui thread.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th October 2010, 05:51 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

The plugin container process quickly sucks up RAM if I had Flash videos loaded, and just freeing memory back up is a dragged process. My whole frekkin' system lags because of FireFox having too many or large ActiveX controls.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.