#21  
Old 26th November 2012, 08:49 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

No offense, but I gave up trying to get a "real N64 feeling" with input plugins a long time ago.

When I discovered just how superior the keyboard is for playing games.

I mean, yeah. You had a more "real N64 feeling" when you set the numpad to C-buttons, because those were to the full right of the controller, and WASD for the digital pad, because that was to the full left of the controller. Unfortunately however it's surprising how strategically inferior that logic applies to a playable layout.

Every time I go back to using a real N64 controller instead of a keyboard controller, to play my brother at SSB, I'm like, shit, this sucks. I won faster when I used a keyboard.

And every time I see a YouTube video of someone with an adaptoid or fancy-ass exotic controller and N-Rage, I see an elitist little rich kid that likes to show off how much stuff they can buy.

Hey look I accidentally a pyramid of smilies into a single post!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 26th November 2012, 08:51 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Anyway if you're using an Xbox/360 controller, have you ever tried a native XInput plugin, instead of a cluster hybrid of DirectInput and XInput?

So have you ever tested this issue out you were having with an XInput-dedicated plugin?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 27th November 2012, 01:24 PM
et500 et500 is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 113
Default

In my opinion the N64 controller with it's 6 button layout is the best controller ever created, the only problem is the durability of the Analog stick. I prefer to play N64 games using a dual analog 6 button pad which comes very close to original controls and I even play PC shooters like GE Source Turok style with mouse and gamepad since i absolutely hate to play on PC keyboard.

The best plugin in my opinion truly would be Nrage, but it is unusable as long as the critical bugs mentioned are fixed. So now I'm using Darkman which has the great ability to assign a secondary button to each function which makes it possible to assign A,B,C-left and C-down to the 360 buttons while still keeping the right analog stick fully working as a C-replacement. But darkman does not support memory cards so I have to stick with Rice 1.6 as Rice 1.7 does not allow mapping the digital 360 pad.

I would love to have one single plugin working for every purpose one day.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 27th November 2012, 08:58 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

N-Rage would be the most "featured" plugin, but it quickly became a clusterfuck. Features aren't everything, especially when it comes to just emulating the damn thing accurately. Plus if you use a real N64 controller, instead of a keyboard, it's not really emulation anymore if you're executing from the real hardware.

So it raises the question, why use an emulator?

Similarly, the Project64 RSP was better off divided into single-purpose DLLs corresponding to those purposes. An example of why is per-game plugins, having a MLE recompiler assigned to Mario64, having an LLE recompiler assigned to Bomberman, having an LLE interpreter assigned to Fuck Driving Championshit and Stunt Fucker 64.

Not to mention Indiana Jones and the FUCKING Machine.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 3rd February 2013, 04:44 PM
lion10 lion10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
this proves you are at fault, your emulator directory doesn't have write permission so the nrage config ini is not getting written to when you load the profile.
I have also big issues wit latest Nrage releases. Last working build at my system(s) is NrageV2.1rc3debug. All never ones will not be detected properly or will crash. OS is Win 7 x64, - tested also on a fresh installed Win 7 installation.

My errors are surely not related to any "write permissions", - they also occurs on a fat32 formated volume. Note, I was able to reproduce these issues in 1964 V1.0, not only in PJ1.6. Please check the attachment.

Are these newest Nrage builds only compatible with PJ1.7 and newer? Or are they on a "special" way compiled? I remember me there was a message regarding a missing "MS" dll, probably C++ Framework? It appears only once. Don't know by which Emu it was.

Is somewhere the debug version of Nrage Plugin 2.3c for download available?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg nrageV2.3cError.jpg (13.6 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg nrageV2.3cError2.jpg (10.0 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg nrageV2.3cEmptyConfiguration.jpg (18.1 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg nrageV2.1rc3debugPJ64.jpg (19.6 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg nrageV2.1rc3debug1964.jpg (19.8 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by lion10; 3rd February 2013 at 08:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 4th February 2013, 02:24 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

if the plugin fails to load, it means you lack the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86) - which is almost impossible now, so you must live in a cave D:

WHY DOES NOBODY READ THE &#$@ing README.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1

Last edited by squall_leonhart; 4th February 2013 at 02:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 4th February 2013, 07:58 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,103
Default

Change it to DON'T_README
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 5th February 2013, 10:42 AM
lion10 lion10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
if the plugin fails to load, it means you lack the ... - which is almost impossible now, so you must live in a cave D:

WHY DOES NOBODY READ THE &#$@ing README.
Problem STILL exists, - also with Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 SP1 Redistributable Package x86 and x64 installed!

I read the Readme, - of NrageV2.1rc3debug. I did not think that version 2.3 has differences in requirements... However, can I have now the debug version of 2.3c please?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pj64V16NrageError.JPG (23.5 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg pj64V16NrageError2.JPG (18.2 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg pj64V16NrageEmpty.JPG (34.6 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 1964V1NrageError.JPG (56.0 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 1964V1NrageEmpty.JPG (87.8 KB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 5th February 2013, 11:07 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,917
Default

install the DirectX June 2010 redistributable
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 5th February 2013, 12:29 PM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

I've ever understood why windows doesn't include those DLLs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.