#1  
Old 2nd July 2009, 05:02 AM
archlvt archlvt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default Controller Help

First off, I just want to say how happy I am to be able to play these n64 games with amazing clarity, frame rate, anti aliasing, everything. In all honesty, majora's mask emulated looks even better than a lot of gamecube games out there. Just so clear and pretty, not a single blocky or jaggy in sight.

My problem lies with my controller. I have a Logitech Dual Analog ps2 lookalike (The navy blue one with the analog sticks having a square shaped cutout for some reason).

ANYWAY, onto my point. On a real console, controllers will pick up many many directions, the n64 seems to pick up at least 32 directions. Playing on this emulator however, it will only pick up 8 directions (up down left right, and the diagonals). This makes it very difficult to do anything with narrow platforming, and sometimes makes combat a bit clunky. Is there a way to increase how many directions your controller will detect?

Also, there is no sensitivity, if I tilt the stick only a little bit forward on a real console, the character will walk, and as I tilt harder and harder, the character gradually walks faster. But on the emulator, as soon as I tilt it even a little bit forward, he bursts into a full run as though I'm tilting it to the max.

Can anyone help me with these two problems?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd July 2009, 05:41 AM
magmarock64 magmarock64 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 193
Thumbs up Best controller there is

Same controller I have. First of all this is 1of 2 of the best controllers you can get for an emulator and the best for a PC those scare shaped analog borders are one of the reasons why and I will tell you more later if you wish.
I don't know what you mean by "it will only pick up 8 directions" I don't seem to have a problem with it. I suggest you use N-Rage plugin and set the dead zone to zero, set N64 range to 64, untick real N64 range, and See how that goes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd July 2009, 06:14 AM
archlvt archlvt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default

I just tried the N-rage plugin, and for some reason when I try to set my keys on my controller it isn't detecting them. It isn't reading that I have a controller plugged in. It picks up JabosDirectInput just fine though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd July 2009, 08:27 AM
magmarock64 magmarock64 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 193
Default

Go to device tab, then to game pad, device, select logitech duel action and set dead zone to zero.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd July 2009, 09:22 PM
archlvt archlvt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Okay so I got the N-Rage plugin working, but it's the same thing, link only moves in 8 directions (Forward, back, left, right, and diagonal) rather than all the inbetween directions. This makes traversing a narrow passage (like the planks of wood just outside of woodfall temple) difficult.

Also, since there's no sensitivity detection, shooting arrows or the hookshot is hard due to aiming, I have to turn down the Range to 35% every time I need to do something that has to do with arrows (like the shooting galleries or the pirates fortress), then quickly save, pause it, and turn it back up to normal.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd July 2009, 12:11 AM
magmarock64 magmarock64 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 193
Default

Sounds like you have mode button on is there a red light on? if so turn it off. If you want to see how the game see's your controller I suggest you powerup
Goldeneye and go to controller config from here you can see what the game see's. You can also set the dead zone to 20 most people like that, I don't.
If all else fails you can try an actual N64 controller with adapter for $20 AUD. But don't waste your time with other PC controllers they are not as good.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd July 2009, 01:18 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,915
Default

analogue Axis's are only 4 way, with a mixed combination of various degree's.

there is no such thing as a 32 way thumbstick.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd July 2009, 12:03 PM
archlvt archlvt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
analogue Axis's are only 4 way, with a mixed combination of various degree's.

there is no such thing as a 32 way thumbstick.
Be that as it may, on the n64 or gamecube, link moves in many many directions and I can easily move him around, and if I'm not going perfectly straight down a narrow passageway, I can slightly turn him so that he goes straight. On the emulator on the other hand, I have to basically zig-zag down the path because he will only move in 8 directions.

Telling me this useless information doesn't help me get the controls working. Call it whatever statistic you want but the fact remains that when i play majora's mask on the n64, link can move in many directions, turn slightly, walk, carefully aim due to sensitivity detection, whereas here, he moves in 8 directions, no inbetweens, and moves at maximum speed ALL the time, making bow/hookshot, etc nearly impossible to aim with. You can imagine how fun the mirror shield was to work with in the light reflection room in stone tower temple.

Onto the person who was actually on topic, I did try with the mode on and off, it doesn't help. I actually generally use the D-Pad instead of the analog stick since I can't STAND the square shape of the analog cutout, it should be octagon shaped like the gamecube's controller. That being said, I did try it with BOTH the analog stick and the d-pad, neither worked. In fact, the analog sticks were SO sensitive that I had to take the C button off of them, I have < set to L2, > set to r2 and V set to select. It was just too darn difficult to hold the bowstring back or play songs because it was so sensitive that it would play other notes that I didn't want it to play if my accuracy was just a tiny bit off on the analog stick.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd July 2009, 04:08 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,915
Default

then the problem is your game controller or adapter.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd July 2009, 07:54 PM
archlvt archlvt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
then the problem is your game controller or adapter.
Just let the smart people figure this out

You know, you'd be a great asset to an ISP as an inbound call representative. You can pretend that you didn't hear anyone's internet related problems and tell them "It's your router".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
controller, directions, majora's mask, moron, noob, sensitivity, zelda

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.