Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th December 2010, 08:06 AM
scorp316 scorp316 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Cool PJ64 1.4 Source code question

I have been trying to get "Clear Mode" option to work on the PJ64 1.4 source code, which there are 3 options for it (Default, Only per frame, Always). So my question is: Is this option included in the PJ64 1.4 source code that is provided in this PJ64 website? Please help. Thanks for your attention.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th December 2010, 05:13 PM
Experiment #150's Avatar
Experiment #150 Experiment #150 is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Right_nex_door_lawl_Ihascake
Posts: 1,456
Default

You'll hafta ask swellow or Squall but in the meantime what is clear mode supposed ta do?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
seriously. do it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th December 2010, 05:36 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

It would be under the source for Jabo's Direct3D7 1.40 graphics plugin.

He means "Direct3D clear mode".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th December 2010, 07:53 PM
Experiment #150's Avatar
Experiment #150 Experiment #150 is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Right_nex_door_lawl_Ihascake
Posts: 1,456
Default

aaah I see.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
seriously. do it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th December 2010, 08:24 PM
zilmar zilmar is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 989
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scorp316 View Post
I have been trying to get "Clear Mode" option to work on the PJ64 1.4 source code, which there are 3 options for it (Default, Only per frame, Always). So my question is: Is this option included in the PJ64 1.4 source code that is provided in this PJ64 website? Please help. Thanks for your attention.
These options are part of the gfx plugin not the emu

I released the source to the emulator.

Jabo never released any of the source of the plugins
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th December 2010, 01:57 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rswedlow View Post
It would be under the source for Jabo's Direct3D7 1.40 graphics plugin.

He means "Direct3D clear mode".
Oh btw, the source I mentioned in that post isn't publicly existent on the pj64 site. I meant to say that technically it has nothing to do with the pj64 source.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zilmar View Post
These options are part of the gfx plugin not the emu

I released the source to the emulator.

Jabo never released any of the source of the plugins
He released the RSP re-compiler source. :/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th December 2010, 02:04 AM
scorp316 scorp316 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Cool

Oh I see......Thanks for all of the responses

One more question: Once PJ64 1.7 is officially released, will anything new (like PJ64 1.6 source code, etc.) be released as well?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th December 2010, 02:09 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

No information was disclosed about additional stuff that might get released. I doubt legacy versions will automatically become open-source, but that's not my decision to make.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th December 2010, 02:44 AM
weinerschnitzel weinerschnitzel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Hi there, as you guys are certainly aware, PJ64 1.4 is ported to xbox under the famous emu combo Surreal64. Scorp316 has been a great help in adding improved compatibility for what we already have on the xbox.

Quite a few of us are still working on Surreal64, trying to make it more user friendly, stable and of course more compatible. It was my understanding that new source code will not be released because 1.7 betas are a source of revenue for you guys, and any other released source can lead to a fork that takes a stab from your wallet.

I was also under the impression that when 1.7 is finished, it will be made publicly available. If thats the case and donation backed betas are out of the picture, wouldn't it mean you are at a safe spot to release more source code?

Hope the question doesn't upset you as I'm sure you get inquiries like this everyday.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th December 2010, 03:10 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

My general concern is that I don't quite understand your question, but, at the same time, I don't understand your intention here. Why would you risk upsetting anyone by asking a question that might have been asked everyday? Wouldn't that decrease the authors' inclination to release any source?

There is no realistic revenue behind this system of donations. The object of money is used as a representation to justify that someone cares about the project and would donate their thanks in that financial form, and the ratio of the average daily profit off of this donation system to the average daily profit total is an irrational number, whose rational approximation is zero.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.